Learn how to deactivate or delete your X account and data on a phone, tablet, or computer to stop using this social platform.
X doesn’t offer an immediate option to delete your account. Instead, you must first deactivate your account, which puts it in a queue for permanent deletion.
If you don’t log in within the next 30 days of deactivation, your account will be permanently deleted.
Until your data is gone for good, it will still be available. Once your 30 days are up, X permanently deletes your account and all your data from its servers.
Before you delete your account
Here are a few things to keep in mind.
Cancel your X Premium subscription
If you’ve purchased an X subscription or subscribed to accounts (Super Follows) via the X app, cancel your subscriptions before deactivating the account. Otherwise, the subscriptions may continue even though you won’t be getting any of the benefits. If you’ve subscribed via x.com to save money, however, deactivating your X account will automatically cancel your subscriptions.
Change the username and email address
Before deleting your X account, consider changing your email address and username by going to Settings and Privacy > Your Account > Account Information > Username and Email.
This will let you create a new account later using the same email address or username (if available) as the deleted account. Keep in mind that your email and username will be available for use on the old account if you sign up again during the 30-day deactivation period.
However, you can change your X username and profile URL without having to create a new account, and doing so won’t affect your @replies and followers.
Download account data
Download an archive of your X account before proceeding with deactivation. That way, you’ll be able to access all your tweets in a structured HTML file anytime in the future. Otherwise, proceed to deactivate and delete your account.
Deactivate and delete your X account
1) Visit x.com/settings on your computer. On iPhone, iPad, or Android phone, open the X app and tap your profile picture in the top-left corner.
2) Go to Settings and Privacy > Your Account > Deactivate Your Account.
3) Read the important information, then tap the red Deactivate button to proceed.
4) You’ll need to enter your account password, then tap Deactivate and confirm by hitting ‘Yes, deactivate.’ You’ve now deactivated your X account. If you don’t log in within the next 30 days, the account will be permanently deleted and can’t be revived.
Reactivate your X account
Changed your mind?
Open the X app or website and log in with the username and password of your deactivated account. You’ll see a “Reactivate your account?” page; tap “Yes, reactivate” to continue using this X account as before.
Can I recover my deleted X account?
If you didn’t log into your deactivated X account within the aforementioned 30-day window, it’s permanently deleted; you can no longer reactivate or recover it or regain access to it in any other way. All its followers, posts, replies, direct messages, etc., are now gone forever!
Also, check out: