Instagram recently announced a new feature where you can send disappearing messages in chats. This feature is called Vanish mode, and unlike other ephemeral messaging services such as Snapchat, you can enable or disable this mode manually. The messages will be permanently deleted once you exit the chat. As of now, the feature is only available for single chats.
If you want to send disappearing messages on Instagram, then we’ve got a simple tutorial on how to enable Instagram vanish mode on iPhone.
How to enable Instagram Vanish mode on iPhone
It’s super easy to enable the Vanish mode in Instagram on your iPhone. Follow the steps below and you’ll be sending disappearing messages in no time. Before we begin, make sure that you’ve installed the latest version of Instagram on your device.
- Launch Instagram on your iPhone.
- Open a chat where you want to send disappearing messages.
- Swipe up from the bottom of the chat, and you should see an option that says Swipe up to turn on vanish mode.
- The screen should now turn black and a bunch of ‘silence’ emojis will fall from the top of the screen.
- A new Turn off Vanish mode button will be visible at the top of the chat.
There you have it. That’s how you can turn on the vanish mode in Instagram on your iPhone.
How to turn off Vanish mode
Once you’ve enabled Vanish mode, you can leave it on and use it all the time. To turn off vanish mode, follow the instructions below.
- While in a Vanish mode conversation, simply tap on the Turn off Vanish mode button.
- You can also Swipe up from the bottom of the chat to turn off the feature.
More on Instagram
Check out these tutorials for more things to do with Instagram on iPhone.
- How to change Instagram icon
- How to download IGTV videos to iPhone
- How to save Instagram stories on iPhone
- How to upload photos to Instagram without compression
- How to stop iPhone from saving Instagram photos to Camera roll
Vanish mode is an easy way to chat super privately with someone. The messages sent in vanish mode will disappear after being seen by the receiver. The chat and all aspects of the chat, including images, will be deleted after exiting the chat. You can enable or display the vanish mode whenever you want.
You may also take screenshots in this mode, but alas, your recipient will be notified of your action. When you enable Vanish mode in a chat, the other person will be notified that the feature is turned on.