Saved Google Maps Lists iPhone

Like saving locations you enjoy in Apple Maps, you can hold onto your favorite spots in Google Maps too. And with the List feature, you can take advantage of pre-made lists, create your own, share them with friends, publish them for other Google Maps users, and more.

For using Google Maps to its fullest on iPhone and iPad, we’ll show you how to use Lists along with helpful tips.

Google Maps Lists

View your Lists in Google Maps

To access Lists in Google Maps on iPhone or iPad, just open the app and tap the Saved tab at the bottom. Then, select the Lists tab at the top of the following screen.

At the top are pinned, pre-made lists for Favorites, Want to go, and Starred places. Take advantage of these pre-assembled lists by adding spots to them, which we’ll describe further below.

Saved Lists Google Maps

Create a list

On the Lists tab and screen, tap the plus sign at the bottom to add a list. Give your list a name, brief description, and whether you want to keep it private or share it, which you can change later if you like. Tap Save.

You can then begin adding spots to your new list right away. Tap Add, search for a location, and select it in the results. You’ll then see it added to your new list. Alternatively, you can add places to your list later. Just tap the arrow at the top of the list to go back to the Lists screen.

Create New List Google Maps

Add locations to a list

When you have a location on the screen that you want to add to a list, tap Save. Then choose the list you want to add it to, optionally include a note, and then tap Done. You’ll notice that you can also create a new list on this screen.

Save Location to List Google Maps

Edit or remove locations on a list

Once you add a spot to a list, you’ll see the Saved button is highlighted and the list you saved it to displays below. To edit the list or remove the location from it, tap the Saved button. Uncheck the list to remove the location from it or mark a check next to a different list you want to add it to.

Save Location to Multiple Lists Google Maps

You can save locations to more than one list and if you do, you’ll see a number indicator on the Saved button for that spot.

Share a list

You have a couple of different sharing options for your Google Maps lists. You can share them directly with friends or family members by grabbing a link to it or you can make it a public list viewable by other Google Maps users who have the link.

Share your list

Do one of the following to send your list using your preferred sharing method.

  • From the Saved > Lists screen, tap More (three dots) next to the list and pick Share list.
  • From the list details screen, tap More (three dots) on the top right and pick Share list.
  • From the list details screen, tap Share.

In the small pop-up window, enable the toggle if you want to allow those with the link to be able to edit the list and tap Continue. Choose your sharing option and follow the prompts to share a link to your list.

Share List Google Maps

Share a link to your list

If you would rather copy a link to your list or invite specific people to edit it, start with one of the following.

  • From the Saved > Lists screen, tap More (three dots) next to the list and pick Share list.
  • From the list details screen, tap More (three dots) on the top right and pick Share list.

Select Shared. You can see the link under Link to View and tap the button to copy that link. At the bottom, you can enable editing options and tap the Invite Editors button to share it with specific people.

Share List Link Google Maps

Share your list publicly

To turn your private list into a public one, start by doing one of the following.

  • From the Saved > Lists screen, tap More (three dots) next to the list and pick Share list.
  • From the list details screen, tap More (three dots) on the top right and pick Share list.

Select Public to publish your list to Google Maps for all to view and confirm by tapping the Publish button.

Share List Public Google Maps

If you choose to make your list public and publish it on Google Maps, it has a chance of becoming a featured list. To be featured, the list must have its own title, a description, at least four locations, and descriptions for each location. Other users can also follow your list, just as you can follow others.

Featured Lists Google Maps

Follow a list

If you see a featured list on Google Maps or receive a link to a list that your pal created, you can follow it. This will add the list to your Saved lists and the locations will become suggested on your map.

Tap Follow on the list details page. Then when you go to Saved > Lists, you’ll see a section for Lists You Follow.

To hide, share, or unfollow a list, tap More (three dots) next to the list or at the top of the details screen and select an option.

Follow Lists Google Maps

Hide, edit, or remove a list

If you’d like to change the name or description for a list, add notes for the locations, or delete it completely, head to Saved > Lists. Tap the three dots next to the list and choose an option.

  • Select Hide on your map to not display the list locations on the map.
  • Select Edit list to make changes to the name, description, or notes for the locations. Tap Save when you finish.
  • Select Delete list to remove it and then confirm by tapping Delete.

Hide Edit Delete List Google Maps

Wrapping it up

Using Lists in Google Maps on iPhone and iPad, you can keep track of your favorite spots or those you want to visit. You can also use the Starred list to plot locations on a map with a tap.

Are you going to take advantage of Lists in Google Maps? Maybe you’ll create your own, publish one, or simply track places privately. Let us know how you like to use Google Maps Lists in the comments below!