By default, all Instagram accounts are open to the public, which means any other Instagram user can search for you and view your photos and videos without your permission.
If you want additional privacy and only want a select number of people to be able to see your photos and videos, then you have the option to make your account private.
We’ll show you how to do it in this tutorial.
What happens when you make your account private?
When you make your Instagram account private, other users will still be able to find you by searching for your name or profile handle. On the other hand, all your photos and videos will be hidden from anyone who isn’t following you, so your account would look something like this to everyone else:
Moreover, not just anyone can follow you. Every time someone new attempts to start following you, you receive a follow request that you can confirm or delete, which looks something like this:
These steps help keep strangers from following you and circumventing your privacy rules. They’re great for younger folks and/or anyone who wants to have a personal account reserved for use with their friends and loved ones.
How do I keep my Instagram photos private?
It’s important to note that you can only make your account private from the free mobile Instagram app. This can’t be done from your computer, so make sure you’ve downloaded and installed the app on your mobile device prior to moving on.
To make your account private, follow these steps:
1) Launch the Instagram app from your Home screen.
2) Tap on the Profile tab so you can see your profile.
3) Tap on the Settings button at the top right of the app and select Privacy.
4) Choose Account Privacy and turn on the Private Account toggle switch.
Your account is now private, and hence your media can only be viewed by approved followers. Congratulations!
Stopping people from finding you altogether
While the method above does keep strangers from seeing your profile’s media content, it doesn’t stop people from searching for you, finding your profile, and sending you messages.
If you have a weirdo that won’t stop trying to contact you, then you might want to escalate the situation by following our tutorial on blocking other Instagram users instead.
When blocked, a user will not get a notification telling them that they’re blocked and they’ll be unable to find or contact you at all. The blocking process is reversible if you change your mind later on.
Sometimes you want additional privacy from the outside world, and there’s no shame in that. Fortunately, Instagram comes with the built-in tools to make it possible and all you have to do is flip a switch.
If you found this tutorial useful, let us know in the comments below!