How to forget a Wi-Fi network on iPhone, iPad, and Mac

Learn how to forget a Wi-Fi network on your iPhone, iPad, or Mac to remove saved network credentials, improve wireless security, and troubleshoot connection issues.

How to forget a WiFi Network

Your iPhone, iPad, and Mac remember security credentials for Wi-Fi networks you’ve joined so they can automatically reconnect when you’re in range. This is convenient, but sometimes it’s better to forget specific Wi-Fi networks, like the hotel Wi-Fi you joined on vacation or Wi-Fi hotspots at random coffee bars.

This can also help troubleshoot connection issues. Here’s how to forget previously joined Wi-Fi networks on your iPhone, iPad, and Mac, which removes saved credentials and prevents the device from automatically rejoining them.

iPhone and iPad

  1. Open the Settings app and select Wi-Fi.
  2. Tap the info icon ⓘ next to the Wi-Fi network name. To forget a Wi-Fi network you’re not currently connected to, tap Edit, then authenticate with Face ID or Touch ID, and tap the info icon ⓘ.
  3. Tap Forget This Network and confirm.

Apple notes you may be unable to forget a Wi-Fi network on a supervised device issued by a school or employer.

Forgetting Wi-Fi on iPhone

Tapping the Edit button on the Wi-Fi settings page may reveal a Managed Networks heading; if your iPhone automatically joins a network in this section, tap the info button ⓘ next to its name and turn off the Auto-Join switch.

Turning off auto join for Managed Networks on iPhone

Mac

  1. Open System Settings.
  2. Select Wi-Fi in the System Settings sidebar.
  3. Click the Advanced button in the bottom-right.
  4. Click the three-dot icon next to a known network and choose Remove From List in the menu.
Forgetting Wi-Fi on Mac

If your Mac is running macOS Monterey or an older version:

  1. Navigate to System Preferences > Network, select the Wi-Fi network on the left, then click the Advanced button.
  2. Select the Wi-Fi option at the top.
  3. Select the Wi-Fi network you’d like to forget, then click the minus sign and confirm the action by clicking the Remove button.
Forget WiFi Network Mac

Forgetting saved Wi-Fi networks you no longer use is recommended, as it reduces the risk of Wi-Fi-related attacks via known networks.

Also, check out: How to stop your iPhone, iPad, or Mac from asking to join Wi-Fi networks