The iOS 13.3 software update that dropped today brought a bunch of bug fixes to iPhones and iPads around the world along with new features like Screen Time Communication Limits, a handy Memoji Stickers toggle for the stock keyboard and more. But there’s one particular feature that we’d like to highlight because Apple has tucked it away as a side-note in the bug-fixes section of the iOS 13.3 changelog. I’m talking about trimming videos in Photos.
Before iOS 13 came along, trimming iPhone footage in the Photos app would always create a new clip. You ended up with a pair of videos in Photos — the original, full-length footage and its shorter, trimmed counterpart — wasting precious storage space and bandwidth.
iOS 13.0’s Photos has enabled non-destructive video editing, meaning a trimmed video no longer needed to be saved as a separate clip because you could always revert your changes and restore the original, non-trimmed footage. In iOS 13.3, however, you can now decide whether or not you’d like to keep a trimmed clip alongside its original-length version.
I prefer to be asked when tapping Done whether or not a trimmed version should be kept in Photos as a new clip, and that’s precisely what the new iOS 13.3 update does for you and me.
Are you seeing other tidbits in iOS 13.3 that you think might be worth mentioning? If so, do share them in the commenting section down below and we’ll help spread the word.