Apple Pay launches in 13 European countries with financial backing from large banks

Apple Pay this morning arrived to more than a dozen additional European markets.

Customers in these countries can now use Apple Pay:

  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Estonia
  • Greece
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Malta
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia

However, it should be noted that in many of the listed countries Apple Pay is not formally supported by domestic banks even though it’s now accepted by most local retailers that support contactless payments. In other words, Apple Pay support across the above markets has been realized in partnership with popular online banking services that issue Visa and MasterCard debit cards to customers throughout the European Union.

As an example, customers of popular online banking services company Revolut can now add a Revolut-branded MasterCard virtual or physical debit card to the Wallet app on their iPhone. According to regional Apple Pay websites in the listed countries, the service is also supported via MasterCard and Visa prepaid cards issued by major national banks.

As another example, Apple Pay is supported in Slovakia by Boon, Edenred, J&T Banka, Monese, N26, Revolut, Slovenska Sporitelna, Tatra banka and mBank. In Portugal, launch support is limited to N26 and Revolut. To help get users up to speed,ย Apple has. published a โ€œGet Started With Apple Payโ€ guide in local App Stores.

Supporting banks in these countries include one or more of the following European banks.

  • Boon
  • Edenred
  • J&T Banka
  • mBank
  • Monese
  • N26
  • Revolut
  • Slovenska Sporitelna
  • Tatra banka

The latest expansion arrives hot on the heels of launches in other European countries in the past few weeks, such as Austria,ย Hungary, Luxembourg, Iceland and the Netherlands.

The Cupertino tech giant has said that the service will be supported in 40 countries by the end of 2019 following its US debut back in October 2014.

The full list of Apple Pay countries and regions is availableย on Appleโ€™s website.