• Sections
    • Tips
    • Wallpapers
      • Abstract Wallpapers
      • Apple Wallpapers
      • City Wallpapers
      • Colorful Wallpapers
      • Fantasy Wallpapers
      • Geometric Wallpapers
      • Gradient Wallpapers
      • Landscape Wallpapers
      • Minimalist Wallpapers
      • Nature Wallpapers
      • Sky Wallpapers
      • Space Wallpapers
      • TV & Movies Wallpapers
      • Video Games Wallpapers
    • Jailbreak
      • Jailbreak News
      • Jailbreak Tweaks
      • Jailbreak Guide
      • Unlock Guide
    • Devices
      • iPhone
      • iPad
      • Vision Pro
      • Apple Watch
      • Mac
      • Apple TV
      • AirPods
      • AirTag
      • HomePod
    • Our Apps
      • iDB app
      • Compress Photos
      • Compress Videos
      • Contact Groups
      • Event Countdown
      • EXIF Metadata
      • Export Contact
      • Export Contacts to Excel
      • PDF Calendar
      • Photos to PDF
      • Reposter for Instagram
      • Split Video
      • Math Facts
    • Deals
      • Latest Deals
      • Best prepaid plans
      • AirPods Deals
    • Top Picks
      • Best iPhone 15 cases
      • Best USB-C Cables
      • Best MagSafe Tripods
      • Best iPhone Stands for FaceTime
      • More Top Picks
    • More
      • Accessories
      • Download
      • About
      • Contact
  • Follow us
  • iDB app
  • iDB podcast
  • Newsletter
  • X
  • Facebook
  • YouTube
  • Instagram
  • RSS

How to deactivate or permanently delete your Instagram account

Ankur Thakur ∙ Updated August 14, 2026

Learn how to deactivate your Instagram account temporarily or delete it permanently using the official mobile app for iPhone and Android or your favorite web browser.

Delete your Instagram account
Table of Contents hide
1) Deleting vs. deactivating
2) What happens after deleting an Instagram account?
3) Deactivate your Instagram account
4) Reactivate your Instagram account
5) Delete your Instagram account
6) Cancel a pending account deletion request
7) Can I create a new Instagram account with my old username?
8) Can Instagram or someone else delete my account?

Deleting vs. deactivating

Deleting an Instagram account is an irreversible action.

If you’d like to take a break from Instagram without losing any posts and followers, you can instead temporarily disable your account. Doing so will temporarily hide your pictures, videos, reels, comments, likes, followers, following, and more, not delete them. After you reactivate the account, those interactions will become visible again.

What happens after deleting an Instagram account?

Deleting your Instagram account is a permanent action that has the following consequences:

  • Your profile, photos, videos, and reels are removed without chance of recovery. Download your Instagram reels before deleting the account.
  • Your Instagram posts embedded on websites won’t show.
  • Your follower list is deleted. If you create a new account in the future, you’ll need to tell your old followers to follow your new account.
  • Your comments and likes will be removed from other people’s posts.

Deactivate your Instagram account

1) Open the Instagram app on your iPhone or Android handset and go to your profile screen.

2) Tap the menu icon in the top-right corner and choose Accounts Center.

Accessing Instagram Accounts Center

3) Tap Manage accounts. Then tap Manage next to your Instagram account.

Manage accounts in Instagram

4) Tap Deactivation or Deletion.

5) Select Deactivate account and continue.

Deactivate account option in Instagram

6) Go through the list of what you’ll lose access to. Then enter your Instagram password to verify and continue.

Your Instagram account will be deactivated screen

7) Select a reason for account deactivation from the repopulated choices. Based on the reason you pick, Instagram may give you more info about it; just tap Continue.

8) Finally, tap Deactivate Account to confirm.

Confirm temporary account deactivation for Instagram

You can also access the account deletion option through the Accounts Center in a web browser on a computer.

Reactivate your Instagram account

If you would like to use Instagram again, you can reactivate a previously deactivated account by signing in with your credentials in the mobile app or web interface. Doing so will reinstate your account so you can pick up right where you left off. Forgot your Instagram password? Visit Instagram Support for help.

Delete your Instagram account

You can nuke your Instagram account out of orbit for good. But first, we recommend downloading an archive of your Instagram account data so you have a copy of your photos, videos, reels, and so on. Once that’s done, follow these steps to delete your Instagram account permanently.

1) Open Instagram, go to your profile screen, and tap the menu icon at the top.

2) Tap Accounts Center.

Accessing Instagram Accounts Center

3) Tap Manage accounts. After that, tap Manage for your Instagram account.

Manage accounts in Instagram

4) Tap Deactivation or Deletion.

5) Select Delete account and continue.

Permanently deleting your account on Instagram

6) Go through the screen that tells you what all will be lost once the account is deleted. Then, select a reason for deleting your account.

Your Instagram account info will be deleted screen

7) Learn more about your chosen reason for account deletion and tap Continue.

8) You’ll now see options to download your Instagram information, transfer this data to another service, or deactivate the account. Since we want to delete, tap Continue at the bottom.

Permanently delete account screen on Instagram

9) Enter your Instagram password to confirm the action. Read the details on this last screen and, when ready, tap Delete Account.

Confirm permanent account deletion on Instagram

Cancel a pending account deletion request

Instagram will show you the cut-off date when it will permanently delete the account from its systems. You have 30 days to change your mind. Simply log in to Instagram with your username and password within this 30-day window to cancel account deletion. After 30 days, Meta will permanently delete your Instagram account.

Can I create a new Instagram account with my old username?

Yes. After Meta has permanently deleted your Instagram account, you’ll be able to use your old username for your new account, provided no one has taken it. You can also use your old username as a new username for your existing Instagram account. Keep in mind that creating a new Instagram account with your old username will not bring back your followers, following list, posts, likes, comments, or anything else.

Can Instagram or someone else delete my account?

No. Neither Instagram nor third parties can delete your Instagram account. Your Instagram account’s username and password are required to flag the account for deletion.

Also, check out: how to delete or deactivate your:

  • Threads account
  • Facebook account
  • WhatsApp account
Tags Account deletion How to Instagram iPhone Tutorial Web
Featured Stories

Colorful loop language wallpapers for iPhone and Android

How to use Local Lists in Apple Maps on iOS 27

How to Write with Siri on iPhone and iPad in iOS 27

How to customize iPhone in-app camera controls in iOS 27

“Folding Boundary” iPhone gradient wallpaper

Download the iDB app

  • About
  • Contact
  • Disclosure
  • Privacy
  • Unsubscribe

2026 © iDownloadBlog.com This website is not affiliated with Apple.