Find out how to stop your iPhone or iPad from automatically opening the screenshot and showing the full-screen preview after you take a screenshot.
When you take a screenshot in iOS 18 or earlier, the file appears temporarily as a small thumbnail at the bottom corner of the screen. If you need to crop, Markup, or share this screenshot, tap the thumbnail to preview it on the full screen and take the necessary action.
But on iOS 26 and iOS 27, when you capture a screenshot, it opens automatically, taking up the entire screen. In addition to allowing you to quickly crop, edit, and share the screenshot, this behavior also enables you to use visual intelligence to learn more about the objects, places, or text within the screenshot.
However, all things considered, this change poses a significant hindrance to taking multiple screenshots in quick succession. Additionally, this behavior presents a roadblock if you simply want to save screenshots to the Photos app without taking any extra action, such as cropping, editing, sharing, or using visual intelligence.
So, if you’d like to disable this iOS feature and return to the old screenshot behavior, Apple offers you the choice to do that.
Turn off screenshot preview on iPhone
When you take your first screenshot after setting up your device, you may see a small pop-up asking whether you want to change this behavior. If you missed that, follow these steps:
- Open the Settings app.
- Tap General.
- Select Screen Capture.
- Turn off Full-Screen Previews to stop screenshots from opening automatically after you take one.
Here’s how it looks on iPad running iPadOS 27:
To test, take a screenshot, and it will no longer open in full screen; instead, it will appear in the bottom corner of your iPhone or iPad screen as a small thumbnail for 3 seconds and then disappear automatically to be saved to the Photos app.
Also, check out: