Disney+ will be launching in 44 additional countries in its largest expansion yet

By the summer of 2022, new Disney+ countries will include 44 additional markets and eleven new territories across Europe, Africa and West Asia.

Disney+ marketing image showing the service running on a big screen TV
  • Disney+ will be launching across 42 additional countries and 11 new territories
  • New Disney+ markets include countries across Europe, Africa and West Asia
  • This will be the largest service expansion for Disney+ to date

Say hello to additional Disney+ countries and markets

The Mickey Mouse house is planning the largest expansion yet for its video-streaming service following its debut in the United States, Canada and Netherlands in November 2019. The company has confirmed in a press release a summer 2022 launch across Europe, Africa and West Asia in 42 countries and 11 new territories.

New Disney+ countries include South Africa, Turkey, Poland and the United Arab Emirates, for example. New territories the service will be available in include France’s French Polynesia, the Netherlands’ Sint Maarten as well as the UK’s Pitcairn Islands and St Helena.

42 new countries getting Disney+ by summer 2022:

  • Albania
  • Algeria
  • Andorra
  • Bahrain
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Czech Republic
  • Egypt
  • Estonia
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iraq
  • Israel
  • Jordan
  • Kosovo
  • Kuwait
  • Latvia
  • Lebanon
  • Libya
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Malta
  • Montenegro
  • Morocco
  • North Macedonia
  • Oman
  • Palestine Territories
  • Poland
  • Qatar
  • Romania
  • San Marino
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Serbia
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • South Africa
  • Tunisia
  • Turkey
  • United Arab Emirates
  • Vatican City
  • Yemen

11 new markets getting Disney+ by summer 2022:

  • Denmark: Faroe Islands
  • France: French Polynesia, French Southern Territories and St. Pierre and Miquelon Overseas Collective
  • Finland: Åland Islands
  • Netherlands: Sint Maarten, Norway’s Svalbard & Jan Mayen
  • United Kingdom: British Indian Ocean Territory, Gibraltar, Pitcairn Islands and St Helena.

Watch this space as Disney+ is yet to announce subscription prices for each country.

Within Europe, Disney+ is currently available in Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Monaco, The Netherlands Norway, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and the United Kingdom.

Disney+ is growing faster than Netflix

With 118 million subscribers, Disney+ ranks second on the list of popular video-streaming services, with Netflix defending its top spot with about 222 million subscribers. But while Netflix has had its lowest year of subscriber growth since 2015, Disney (which also owns Hulu and ESPN) has continued to expand its streaming service at a more aggressive pace.

As of recently, the video-streaming app works with Apple’s new SharePlay feature. SharePlay works across the entire Disney+ video catalog, allowing you to co-watch Disney+ movies and television series with friends over FaceTime.

Disney+ plans to more than double the number of countries where the service is available to over 160 by fiscal 2023. Disney+ hosts movies and TV shows from Disney, Pixar, Marvel, Star Wars, and National Geographic.

Additional content from 20th Century Studios, Disney Television Studios, FX and Searchlight Pictures is available in some markets via Disney’s new Star brand.