21 pay TV apps and 10 providers now support Apple’s new Single Sign-On feature

iOS 10 Single Sign-On Settings TV Provider iPhone screenshot 001

Single Sign-On, Apple’s new feature that permits compatible video-streaming apps to unlock additional content by using your saved cable credentials, became officially available yesterday. Just a day after launch, apps from ABC and Disney have now gained support for Single Sign-On on the iPhone, iPad and Apple TV, as well as Freeform, FXNOW and a few other apps, The Verge reported Thursday.

The Watch ABC, Disney Channel, Disney Junior, Disney XD, Freeform and FXNOW apps for iOS and tvOS will now automatically log you in provided you’ve entered your cable or satellite credentials into Settings.

Single Sign-On is currently supported in the following apps:

  • ABC (iOS and tvOS)
  • A&E (iOS only)
  • Bravo Now (tvOS only)
  • Disney Channel (iOS and tvOS)
  • Disney Junior (iOS and tvOS)
  • Disney XD (iOS and tvOS)
  • E! Now (tvOS only)
  • Freeform (iOS)
  • FXNOW (tvOS)
  • Hallmark Channel Everywhere (iOS and tvOS)
  • History (iOS only)
  • Lifetime (iOS only)
  • NBC (tvOS only)
  • Syfy Now (tvOS only)
  • Telemundo Now (tvOS only)
  • USA NOW (tvOS only)
  • Watch HGTV (iOS and tvOS)
  • Watch Food Network (iOS and tvOS)
  • Watch Cooking Channel (iOS and tvOS)
  • Watch DIY (iOS and tvOS)
  • Watch Travel Channel (iOS and tvOS)

The following cable providers currently support Single Sign-On:

  • CenturyLink Prism
  • DirecTV
  • Dish
  • GVTC
  • GTA
  • Hawaiian Telcom
  • Hotwire
  • MetroCast
  • Service Electric
  • Sling

A regularly updated list of Single Sign-On providers is available on Apple’s website.

Single Sign-On can be managed in Settings → TV Provider on iOS and via Settings → Accounts → TV Provider on the fourth-generation Apple TV.

This feature is currently available in the United States only.

Source: The Verge