Periscope, a Twitter-owned live video streaming app, was launched in March 2015 and by August 2015, just four months since its inception, the service had surpassed ten million accounts.
On Periscope, which is also available through the fourth-generation Apple TV, over 40 years of video is being watched every day. But such a dizzying array of real-time broadcasts can become quite overwhelming after a while.
Has Periscope been tiring you lately? Are you considering leaving the service? If so, this tutorial will help you delete your account with Periscope, explain how deleting your Twitter account affects your Periscope experience and more.
About deleting Periscope accounts
Periscope’s mobile app doesn’t include an account removal feature. And unlike most other online services, Periscope’s web interface lacks tools to delete your account easily in just a few clicks.
Instead, you’ll have to contact Periscope support with a request to delete your account, using the steps outlined below. It’s important to keep in mind that you cannot sign up for a new Periscope account using the same Twitter account or phone number after it’s been deleted.
Your Twitter and Periscope accounts
If you deleted your Twitter account, you won’t be able to access your Periscope account and will have to start a new one. That’s because your Twitter account is the key to your Periscope account and a single Twitter account can only access one Periscope account.
“Think about it like the key to your house. Your key won’t open anyone else’s house and if you lose your key, you’re locked out of your house,” explains the company.
“That’s the same with Periscope.”
How to delete your Periscope account
To delete your Periscope account, email [email protected] from the email address that corresponds to your Twitter account. Your message must include the following:
- Your Twitter and Periscope user names (those who signed up with their phone number should only provide their Periscope user name.
- The subject line should read “Delete Account”.
Deleting your account may take some time so don’t be impatient if you don’t receive a reply from the support team right away. In the meantime, your account will be disabled and inaccessible to others using Periscope.
Deleting your Periscope will not free up your user name or Twitter account you originally used, meaning you can use it for another Periscope account if you wish.
You might like these related tutorials and resources:
- How to delete your SoundCloud account
- How to delete Twitter account
- How to delete Vine account
- How to delete WhatsApp account
- How to delete Viber account
- How to delete Facebook account
- How to delete Instagram account
- How to delete Snapchat account or change your user name
- How to deactivate Apple ID account
Submit your feedback and tutorial ideas at [email protected].