In this step-by-step tutorial, we show you how to stop the new Siri app in iOS 27, iPadOS 27, and macOS 27 Golden Gate from keeping all your chats and to automatically delete old ones.
If you’re new to it, a dedicated Siri app is now available on iPhone, iPad, and Mac that works like popular AI chat apps such as Grok, ChatGPT, and Claude. You can type or use your voice to ask it questions and get relevant answers. This new Siri is powered by a custom Gemini model, thanks to a partnership between Apple and Google.
By default, the new Siri app not only keeps a permanent archive of everything you ask it in the app, but it also logs nearly everything you ask normal Siri (outside of the Siri app). In my tests, I found that except for certain basic requests like setting a timer, setting an alarm, calling or texting someone, nearly everything else I asked Siri, including the weather in a city, is added to the Siri app.
Unfortunately, there’s currently no way to prevent queries you ask outside the Siri app from being logged in the Siri app. However, you can set the app to automatically delete conversations (that happened both inside and outside the Siri app) after 30 days or 1 year. This is similar to how the Messages app lets you auto-delete old texts and attachments to keep things clean.
So, if you don’t want the Siri app to keep a history of everything you have asked it, then you can easily set it to auto-delete old queries.
Automatically delete old Siri queries from the app
Since all your Siri requests sync via iCloud across all your devices, a new or old chat deleted manually or automatically from one device (say your iPhone) will also disappear from your other devices (like iPad, Mac, and Vision Pro). If you don’t want this to happen, skip to the next section below.
iPhone or iPad
- Open the Settings app on iOS 27 or iPadOS 27.
- Tap Siri.
- Tap Keep Conversation.
- Select 30 Days or 1 Year, and confirm. Selecting either option automatically deletes all Siri chats older than that timeframe, and you can’t undo it. It will also delete future chats that go past the 30-day or 1-year timeframe.
Mac
- Open System Settings on macOS 27 Golden Gate.
- Select Siri in the left sidebar.
- Click Keep Conversations and select 30 Days or 1 Year. This deletes all chats that match the criteria and keeps doing it going forward.
Automatically delete old Siri queries only from a specific device
Imagine you want to delete all Siri conversations that are older than 30 days from your iPhone (where you may not ask important queries), but not from your Mac (where you may have long conversations that are important and worth referencing in the future).
To do this, you’ll have to turn off Siri iCloud sync for that device. This way, what happens in the Siri app on your other devices won’t reflect on that device where you have disabled Siri iCloud sync. This also means new Siri chats from your other devices won’t sync to this one. If you are okay with this trade-off, then follow these steps to turn off iCloud sync.
iPhone or iPad
- Open the Settings app.
- Tap your Apple Account name at the top.
- Tap iCloud.
- Tap See All.
- Select Siri.
- Turn off Sync this iPhone or Sync this iPad. Then choose to keep the existing conversations on the device or delete them. Deleting from that device won’t delete it from everywhere.
Note: You can also choose 30 Days or 1 Year from this screen by tapping Keep Conversations.
Mac
- Open System Settings.
- Click your Apple Account name in the top left corner.
- Select iCloud.
- Click See All.
- Select Siri.
- Turn off Sync this Mac and choose to keep or delete existing chats on this computer.
Delete all Siri conversations stored on iCloud in one go
In addition to deleting conversations manually or auto-deleting conversations that are 30 days or 1 year old, there’s another option that nukes all Siri data from your iCloud. This affects all your devices where you’re signed in with your Apple Account. Plus, it also means your HomePod will no longer be able to recognize your voice or respond to your personal requests, like pulling up your calendar events instead of your spouse’s.
Go with this only if you want to start fresh with no Siri baggage in iCloud. Remember that you won’t be able to recover your deleted chats. And for voice recognition and personal requests on HomePod, you’ll have to configure these settings again in the Home app.
iPhone or iPad
- Go to Settings > Apple Account > iCloud > See All and select Siri.
- Tap Manage Storage.
- Tap Delete Data From iCloud and confirm.
Mac
- Go to System Settings > Apple Account > iCloud.
- Click the Manage button in the Storage section.
- Find and select Siri.
- Click Delete Data From iCloud and confirm.
Also, check out: