Optimizedc battery charging AirPods Pro - hero image

Optimized battery charging for AirPods Pro was designed to slow the rate of battery aging. It maintains the battery health of your earbuds, and this tutorial shows you how to use it.

Optimized battery charging on AirPods Pro

Previously seen elsewhere in Apple’s product lines, optimized battery charging reduces the time your AirPods Pro earphones spend fully charged. This helpful feature requires iOS 14.2 or iPadOS 14.2 and later, which released on November 5, 2020.

Apple explains:

Optimized Battery Charging is designed to reduce the wear on your battery and improve its lifespan by reducing the time your AirPods Pro spend fully charged. AirPods Pro and your iOS or iPadOS device learn from your daily charging routine and will wait to charge your AirPods Pro past 80 percent until just before you need to use them.

Since the AirPods batteries cannot be replaced, you’re recommended to leave this setting on.

Subscribe to iDownloadBlog on YouTube

How to manage optimized battery charging for AirPods Pro

You can turn the optimized battery charging feature on or off right in your AirPods Pro settings.

  1. Take your AirPods Pro out of their charging case so they connect to your iOS device.
  2. Open Settings on the iOS device.
  3. Choose “Bluetooth” from the root list.
  4. Touch “i” next to your listed AirPods Pro.
  5. Enable or disable “Optimized Battery Charging” for your AirPods Pro.

Optimized battery charging is on by default when you set up your iPhone, iPad or iPod touch. It is also enabled by default after you update the device to iOS 14.2 or iPadOS 14.2 or later.

Optimizedc battery charging AirPods Pro - iPhone screenshot

This is a global setting, meaning you don’t need to manually enable or disable the optimized battery charging feature for your AirPods Pro on every Apple device you own. Just toggle the setting on one Apple device, like your iPhone or iPad, and it will automatically be reflected on all your other devices that are signed in to iCloud with the same Apple ID account.