With the iOS and iPadOS 14 updates, Apple has at long last brought an option to remove contacts from iOS’ multi-purpose share sheets, which not only helps increase your privacy but also makes the share sheet less dense. Follow along with us as we show you how to disable suggestions for iOS share sheet contacts on your iPhone and iPad with just a few simple steps.
Contacts in iOS share sheets
iOS’ multi-purpose share sheets that can be invoked in apps by tapping the Share button have long had two rows of icons: the top row provides the list of suggested contacts to share content with while the row beneath it lists the apps and services like AirDrop.
The list of contacts for sharing is based on Siri intelligence and cannot be edited while the list of apps in the bottom row is editable: you can enable or disable specific apps or services, as well as change their order of appearance by tapping the rightmost More icon.
Before iOS 14, there was no way to hide these contact suggestions so people resorted to all sorts of creative solutions, the most common trick entailing deleting the whole Messages thread for a particular contact as doing so makes said contact disappear from the share sheet.
Deleting the whole thread or an app just to remove a contact from the share sheet’s top row isn’t very helpful so Apple in iOS 14 and iPadOS 14 added a new option that makes it easy to disable contacts in iOS share sheets.
Follow along with us for step-by-step instructions for how to disable iOS share sheet contacts on your iPhone or iPad with just a few taps.
How to disable iOS share sheet contacts
Follow these steps if you’d like to disable iOS share sheet contacts:
- Open Settings on your iPhone or iPod touch with iOS 14.0 or iPad with iPadOS 14.0 or later.
- Tap Siri & Search in the root list.
- Slide the switch next to Suggestions when Sharing underneath the heading Siri Suggestions to the OFF position in order to disable the contacts row when sharing.
And just like that, you’ve disable the contacts row in share sheets.
You may want to disable the contacts row for privacy reasons, so that people looking over your shoulder cannot see your frequent contacts. You may have had a couple accidental shares die to an accidental tap or brush with the screen. Some people may find these suggestions not very useful to begin with and they make share sheets taller than they need to be.
To re-enable suggested people in all share sheets, simply toggle on the option in Siri settings.
Need help? Ask iDB!
If you like this tutorial, pass it along to your friends and leave a comment below.
Got stuck? Not sure how to do certain things on your Apple device? Let us know via [email protected] and a future tutorial might provide a solution.
Submit your own how-to suggestions via [email protected].