The App Store is expanding to 20 new countries

The App Store is coming to 20 new countries or regions this year, starting next month.

Apple shared the news today on its developer website, saying that the App Store will expand even farther this year with upcoming support for 20 new countries without naming them.

The store is currently available in 155 countries and regions.

Developers’ apps won’t automatically appear in these new countries unless they accept the updated Program License Agreement by signing in to their account on the Apple Developer website. Only then can a developer choose the “New Countries or Regions” checkbox in the “Pricing and Availability” section of an app’s information page.

“Completing these steps by April 10, 2020 will help make sure your app is ready to be published as content initially becomes available across new locations,” the company noted.

The announcement includes the following praise to developers:

Thanks to the creativity and innovation of developers like you, the App Store has become much more than the world’s safest marketplace. It’s grown into a vibrant platform with great apps that influence culture and change lives, with over half a billion visitors each week. This wide-reaching platform has helped generate over $155 billion in developer earnings — just from sales of apps and in-app purchases.

Expanded availability should help developers grow their business in new markets.