Apple is switching App Store pricing from USD to regional currencies in 9 countries

App Store Feaetured tab teaser 001

Apple’s emailed its registered developers to inform them of some upcoming App Store pricing policy changes in Egypt, Kazakhstan, Malaysia, Nigeria, Pakistan, Philippines, Qatar, Tanzania and Vietnam.

No longer will prices of paid downloads on these local App Stores be shown in US dollars. According to the communique, the App Store in these markets will now show prices of apps and In-App Purchases in their domestic currency.

Instead of US prices, customers in the following markets will now see prices of items sold on the App Store expressed in their country’s official currency:

  • Egypt (Egyptian Pound)
  • Kazakhstan (Kazakhstani Tenge)
  • Malaysia (Malaysian Ringgit)
  • Nigeria (Nigerian Naira)
  • Pakistan (Pakistani Rupee)
  • Philippines (Philippine Peso)
  • Qatar (Qatari Riyal)
  • Tanzania (Tanzanian Shilling)
  • Vietnam (Vietnamese Dong)

Developers’ proceeds will also change from USD to these currencies. Auto-renewable subscriptions for apps in these countries won’t be interrupted as a result of the change.

“We will automatically assign a respective price for current and future price intervals for your subscriptions to the nearest retail available in the local currencies,” said Apple.

Customers of auto-renewable subscriptions shall receive an email from Apple informing them of the currency change. Proceeds from the App Store sales in Egypt will be subject to a 13 percent value-addd tax (VAT) due to the introduction of a VAT regime by the Egyptian government, the company notified developers.

Thanks, Carlos!