If your iPhone is constantly running out of free storage space—and your Camera roll is packed to the gills—you’ll be delighted to know that Google is rolling out new space-saving features to the Google Photos app.
Google Photos for iOS will soon bring out a brand new “Free up space” option in settings and will keep track of your phone’s storage space for you and tell you when backed up photos should be removed from your device.
New ways to free up storage space
Instead of manually deleting pictures and videos from your Camera roll, Google Photos will prompt you when it’s high time to (optionally) remote device copies of your backed up photos and videos.
The feature will be implemented through the settings menu within the Google Photos app, simply labeled “Free up space.” As mentioned, the app can also keep track of your iPhone’s storage space for you.
“Get notified when your phone is running low on space, and easily remove the device copies of backed up photos older than 30 days right from the Assistant,” explains the Google Photos team.
Either way, this will remove only device copies of your content from the Camera roll: the originals of all your backed up photos and videos will still be accessible when you’re connected, both in the Google Photos app and on the web at photos.google.com.
This update is available today on Android and coming soon to iOS, said Google.
Google Photos requires an iPhone, iPod touch or iPad with iOS 8.1 or later.
The app is localized in English, Arabic, Bokmål, Norwegian, Catalan, Chinese, Croatian, Czech, Danish, Dutch, Finnish, French, German, Greek, Hebrew, Hindi, Hungarian, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Malay, Polish, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Slovak, Spanish, Swedish, Thai, Turkish, Ukrainian and Vietnamese.