How to live stream the iPhone 7 event

By , Sep 6, 2016

iPhone 7 september 7 media invite

It’s that time of the year again and Apple’s September 7th keynote will be kicking off tomorrow in what is expected to bring the unveiling of the next-generation iPhone and some other exciting surprises.

If you’re ready to tune in and see what Apple has to offer, we’ll be showing you in this piece how you can live-stream the event on various devices.

Streaming requirements

There are some requirements you will have to meet to live-stream the Apple event on your computer or mobile device, just like every year. The requirements apply to Mac users, mobile device users, Apple TV users, and also to Windows users:

  • Any iOS 7.0 or later iPhone, iPod touch, or iPad and viewed with the Safari web browser
  • Any Mac running OS X 10.8.5 or later and viewed with the Safari 6.0.5 or later web browser
  • Any PC running Windows 10 and viewed with the Microsoft Edge web browser
  • Any Apple TV running software 6.2 or later, or the Apple TV 4 with any version of tvOS

Streaming from an iOS device or Mac

If you’re going to be using your Mac or iOS device, and you’ve met the requirements above, then you will just need to visit Apple’s September 7th Event web page in your web browser and you’re good to go.

As usual, the stream starts at 10:00 A.M. PDT. You can simply click on the link at that time, or if you see nothing by the time the stream rolls around, refresh the page and the live video stream should start loading.

Streaming from an Apple TV

For those of you with an Apple TV, the process differs depending on what generation of the device you have.

If your Apple TV is a third-generation or earlier, you will see the event icon appear on your Home screen automatically and you can select it with your remote to play it starting at 10:00 A.M. PDT.

For those with the newer fourth-generation Apple TV, you will need to download the free Apple Events app from the App Store and stream the event from that app instead.

It’s okay to launch the app a bit early, as the streaming should begin as soon as a live video feed is available.

Streaming from a Windows PC

For Windows users, there are different processes depending on the version of Windows you’re running.

If you’re on Windows 10, then all you have to do is open the Edge web browser and visit Apple’s September 7th Event web page and wait for the live video stream to begin at 10:00 A.M. PDT.

If you’re on Windows 8.1 or earlier, then you can’t use your web browser. You may want to try using the free VLC app to live-stream the event on your computer instead.

1) Launch the app from your Home screen and tap on the Menu button, then tap Stream.

2) After youโ€™re asked for a streaming source, enter the following URL:

http://appleliveevents-i.akamaihd.net/hls/live/222436/1609lijbsdfvoihbadfvohbsdfvljhb/master/4500/4500.m3u8?t=YWxpc2FtaXg=

3) Tap on the Play button after 10:00 A.M. PDT (1:00 P.M. EST) and the live stream will be playing from VLC Media Player.

Streaming from an Android device

Android users will have to get accustomed to using the VLC app too, as it’s necessary to live-stream an Apple event. If you don’t already have it, grab it for free now, and then follow these steps:

1) Launch the app from your Home screen and tap on the Menu button, then tap Stream.

2) After youโ€™re asked for a streaming source, enter the following URL:

http://appleliveevents-i.akamaihd.net/hls/live/222436/1609lijbsdfvoihbadfvohbsdfvljhb/master/4500/4500.m3u8?t=YWxpc2FtaXg=

3) Tap on the Play button after 10:00 A.M. PDT (1:00 P.M. EST) and the live stream will be playing from your Android device through VLC.

Different time zones

If you’re not from the U.S., here are the corresponding time zones for major cities around the world to watch the event live:

  • Beijing, China: Thursday 1:00 A.M. CST
  • Berlin, Germany: Wednesday 7:00 P.M. CEST
  • Hong Kong, China: Thursday 1:00 A.M. CST
  • London, United Kingdom: Wednesday 6:00 P.M. BST
  • Los Angeles, United States: Wednesday 10:00 A.M. PDT
  • Moscow, Russia: Wednesday 8:00 P.M. MSK
  • New York, United States: Wednesday 1:00 P.M. EST
  • Paris, France: Wednesday 7:00 P.M. CEST
  • Rome, Italy: Wednesday 7:00 P.M. CEST
  • Salt Lake City, United States: Wednesday 11:00 A.M. MDT
  • Sydney, Australia: Thursday 3:00 A.M. AEST
  • Tokyo, Japan: Thursday 2:00 A.M. JST

Are you ready?

It’s an exciting day; all those rumors are about to be put to the test. Will we see everything analysts have been claiming for months? Well… we’ll just have to wait and see.

Also read:

Will you be tuning in live today to see what’s new from Apple? Share in the comments.

  • Share:
  • Follow:

  • รngel Javier Esquivel

    You missed Mexico City ๐Ÿ™

    • Hey Angel. There are 4,416 cities in the world with a population of over 150,000 people. Sorry we don’t have time to list them all ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Xee

      Nobody cares ๐Ÿ˜›

  • Ara Rezaee

    I prefer livebloging

  • Scott Curry

    “For Windows users, there are different processes depending on the version of Windows youโ€™re running.”

    But you forgot to mention any process other than being on Windows 10 and using the Edge browser…

    • Eric Anderson

      Its always worked on chrome for me so…

      • Unless Apple blocks certain web browsers I’m pretty sure any browser that supports HTTP Live Streaming (HLS) will work.

      • 5723alex .

        No, Just Edge on Windows 10. No other browser on any Windows. You may stream using VLC with a proper URL link.

      • Scott Curry

        You must have an extension installed that allows it, because by default it most certainly doesn’t…

  • So glad that I convinced my parents to get the Apple TV!

  • John Smith

    Any idea where we can stream it after the event is over? In my timezone the event starts at 10:00am, and I have class from 8am to 12:45pm.

    • kamocho

      You should be able to find it on Apple’s website a little while after it finishes

  • Mike M. Powell

    Omg it’s like I’m waiting for xMas to arrive!!!!!!!!!!!!

    • Rowan09

      Yeah I’m always interested in watching these events. I watch the Samsung and Google IO as well, but the Apple event is first, followed by Google IO. The Samsung events are weird but maybe it’s the cultural difference.

  • Jibbley Gravey

    I’ll be watching this SH** tomorrow ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m ready to SHORT apple’s stock as soon as they flop. Might still upgrade to the 7… but still. :3 I’m NOT impressed. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I just get a free upgrade every year ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Julio Hernandez

      Why :/ do you :{ type ๐Ÿ˜ like ๐Ÿ™ this? :

      • Jibbley Gravey

        Because ๐Ÿ˜€ I can ๐Ÿ˜‰

      • Julio Hernandez

        LMAO, okay

      • John Smith

        I can’t

      • Jibbley Gravey

        ๐Ÿ˜‰ I

  • Unless they knock my socks off tomorrow; I’ll be waiting for the iphone 8. Its expensive living on the Apple New Model Treadmill

    • Jibbley Gravey

      Your socks will NOT be knocked off :3 unless cameras excite you ๐Ÿ˜€

  • Bibibombibi

    “Any PC running Windows 10 and viewed with the Microsoft Edge web browser”

    No luck for Windows 7 users???

    • Julio Hernandez

      Unfortunately it doesn’t seem so. Apples event page says the same thing that it’s only for Windows 10.

    • HamptonWalley

      I do not know why Apple also digging windows 7 users!

      • John Smith

        Especially since Windows 7 is completely capable of doing everything Windows 10 can do, and better.

  • Wesh

    just enter in google ’10 am PDT in my time’ and it should show the correct time for anyone’s location ๐Ÿ™‚
    (just found that out for myself :p )

    • Xee

      Its the same time every year!

    • Julio M.

      actually just ’10 am pdt’ works ๐Ÿ˜›

  • titi

    Apple tv 4 with iOS 9.0.1 can’t download this app. He says update your apple tv:(

  • Martynet

    The last couple of events, I just stop looking at the social media and internet after 6pm (Ireland), and wait when everybody is in bed and it’s lovely and quiet. Time to open nice bottle of wine and enjoy the keynote without any hiccups and disturbance. I know it’s not easy to avoid “APPLE NEWS avalange” for couple of hours during and after the event, but it’s worth it ๐Ÿ™‚

  • Mark Swain

    Hurry up 6pm!!!

  • So Dubai, UAE (the city with the world’s tallest building) is not a major city I guess!!