Shared photo album website

Did you know you can easily create a web page containing some of the photos taken with your iPhone or iPad?

I’ve been using an iPhone since the first one launched in 2007. And in that time, I feel like I’ve learned most of the ins and outs of iOS. Like many of you, I’m the one friends and family come to with their tech questions.

But I’ll be the first to admit I don’t know everything about Apple’s mobile OS, as I learn new stuff everyday. And recently, I found out that you can turn your Photo Streams into websites, viewable by anyone, in just a few easy steps.

This little-known feature is a great way to easily share pictures with friends and family, even if they don’t own an iPhone. Learn how to turn a photo album into a public website with this tutorial.

Ok, so I remember Apple saying something about this feature when they introduced Shared Photo Streams in 2012. But since I don’t use My Photo Stream at all, I never did any further digging on it. Now that I have, though, it’s kind of cool.

Turn a shared photo album into a public website

Step 1: First, you’ll want to make sure My Photo Stream and Shared Photo Sharing options are enabled on your device by going to Settings > Photos & Camera, and making sure that my Photo Stream and iCloud Photo Sharing are turned on.

iCloud Photo sharing on

Step 2: Now open up your Photos app, select the Shared tab at the bottom, and then select a shared album you’d like to turn into a website. Note that you can only use Shared Albums that you have created, and not the ones you were invited to view.

Step 3: Tap on the People tab at the bottom of the screen. From there you can invite people and change settings for that specific album if you choose so.

Shared album public website

Step 4: Turn on the Public Website toggle. It will automatically create a link, and will offer the ability to share that link. Tap on Share Link to share it via email, text message, etc.

That’s all there is to it! If you want to share the site’s URL, shut down the website, or delete the Shared album all together, simply open the Photos app again, select the Shared tab, and tap on the album to go back to the screen above.

This allowed me to create a new Shared album, where I manually added photos I took at the beach this past weekend from my camera roll. And I was then able to send out the link to the website to friends and family. No fuss, no muss.

Yes, there are literally dozens of sites and services out there for sharing photos. But for quickly sharing a specific set of photos—say from a vacation—I’m not sure many of them are better suited than this. It literally took me less than a minute.

To those of you who already knew how to do this, more power to you. But for those of you who didn’t, this is a pretty cool trick huh? For more cool iPhone photography tips and tricks, be sure to check out our awesome iPhoneography section.