Apple Pay goes live in Taiwan

As noted on Apple’s website, the Apple Pay mobile payment service is now available to customers in Taiwan. Financial institutions supporting the service include Cathay United Bank, CTBC Bank, E. Sun Commercial Bank, Standard Chartered Bank, Taipei Fubon Commercial Bank, Taishin International Bank and Union Bank of Taiwan.

After registering their card with Apple Pay by tapping Add Credit or Debit Card in the Wallet app on any iOS device with iOS 8.1 or later, Visa and MasterCard holders can start using the service to pay for their purchases in stores, within apps and on supported websites via their iPhone, iPad, Apple Watch or Touch ID-enabled Mac.

Apple Pay is supported by local merchants that accept contactless payments like Far Eastern Department Stores, Carrefour, PXMart, Sogo, and The Breeze Center. FamilyMart stores are accepting Apple Pay for Taishin International bank customers only.

TUTORIAL: How to remove credit cards from Apple Pay

According to rumors and credible leaks, Apple’s mobile payment service may arrive in a few additional countries soon, like Belgium, Germany, Italy and South Korea.

Apple Pay is currently available in these 15 markets:

  • Australian
  • Canada
  • China
  • France
  • Hong Kong
  • Ireland
  • Japan
  • New Zealand
  • Russia
  • Singapore
  • Spain
  • Switzerland
  • Taiwan
  • United Kingdom
  • United States

Visit the iOS Feature Availability webpage for a list of countries, banks, credit unions and other financial institutions that currently support Apple Pay.

Source: Apple Taiwan