Apple opens up the App Store to 32 new countries

During the WWDC keynote last week, Tim Cook announced that Apple was planning to open up the App Store to 32 new countries sometime this month.

Yesterday, the company made good on that promise. Apple sent out an email to developers last night announcing the following new App Store markets…

  • Albania
  • Benin
  • Bhutan
  • Burkina Faso
  • Cambodia
  • Cape Verde
  • Chad
  • Congo
  • Fiji
  • Gambia
  • Guinea-Bissau
  • Kyrgyzstan
  • Laos
  • Liberia
  • Malawi
  • Mauritania
  • Micronesia
  • Mongolia
  • Mozambique
  • Namibia
  • Nepal
  • Palau
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Sao Tome e Principe
  • Seychelles
  • Sierra Leone
  • Solomon Islands
  • Swaziland
  • Tajikistan
  • Turkmenistan
  • Ukraine
  • Zimbabwe

The move brings the total number of countries with access to the App Store to 152. That’s pretty impressive considering all of the different languages and currency that involves.

If you’re in one of these new countries, expect it to take a couple of days for your favorite apps to populate. Developers must agree to a new TOS before their apps can go on sale.