Apple says new iPad rolling out to 21 additional countries in April

Apple this morning announced via a press release that its third-generation iPad will be rolling out to twelve additional countries this coming Friday, April 20. The device will land on store shelves in South Korea, Croatia and ten more countries.

The gizmo is also hitting the markets in Thailand, South Africa and seven additional countries shortly thereafter, the company has confirmed.

Here’s the full list of countries included in the third wave of the iPad roll out: Brunei, Croatia, Cyprus, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Guatemala, Malaysia, Panama, St Maarten, Uruguay and Venezuela.

A week later – on Friday, April 27 – the new iPad will be available in Colombia, Estonia, India, Israel, Latvia, Lithuania, Montenegro, South Africa and Thailand, Apple said.

The press release notes that “4G LTE is supported only on AT&T and Verizon networks in the U.S. and on Bell, Rogers and Telus networks in Canada”.

The Cupertino company recently found itself under a barrage of criticism in Australia, Europe and other countries over a somewhat misleading 4G moniker.

As the device does not support a myriad of 4G LTE frequencies used by carriers the world over, it falls back in some countries to 3G HSPA+ speeds, prompting watchdogs to accuse Apple of false advertising.

As a result, the company had to clarify its marketing message in Australia and elsewhere to inform customers of these limitations.