Fake Ra1nb0wRa1n iPhone Jailbreak Website Deemed Not the Real Deal

Getting confused from all of the Ra1n? There’s BlackRa1n, LimeRa1n, PurpleRa1n, and the upcoming RubyRa1n. It’s enough to confuse even the best meteorologist.

To add to the level of confusion, someone(s) impersonating renowed iPhone hacker GeoHot has released a site called Ra1nb0wRa1n with little to no fan fare.

The fact that it received hardly any pub before going live was the first thing that struck us as weird. The fact that the site is actually pointing to a Chinese website, is the real thing that sent up our red flags.

For the record, although the site’s whois records feature Hotz’s name and a New Jersey residence, Ra1nb0wRa1n does not appear to be associated with GeoHot in any way, shape, or form…

Visiting Ra1nb0wRa1n’s website presents you with an authentic looking splash page, which then forwards you to another page, which is actually contained in a frame. Viewing the contents of that frame reveals that the URL it’s forwarded to is not www.ra1nb0wra1n.com, but actually a Chinese site. See the screenshot below:

Further, going to the site’s root domain fully reveals its Chinese roots:

Lastly, a whois on that site reveals that indeed, there is no affiliation with GeoHot here.

Even if it were officially Hotz’s creation, Ra1nb0wRa1n isn’t a jailbreak tool in itself; it’s just a place where you can access all of the jailbreak tools in one place. I can see where it would be easy to be confused, especially because the site is almost reminiscent of the jailbreakme website, but that of course was solely for the iPhone, and was directly able to jailbreak your iPhone.

We’re not totally sure of the creator’s motivation for creating this site. From what we’ve been able to tell, there’s nothing devious going on here, but we certainly recommend you avoid it just in case.

Okay, I’m taking off my Columbo jacket now, capiche?