Your web browsing history can say a lot about you, so it’s no surprise that people go great lengths to hide it. One way to do this on an iPhone is by using the Private Browsing feature in Safari, but this will do more than just protect your browsing history; perhaps more than most people want.

With a new free jailbreak tweak dubbed NoHistorySafari by iOS developer Wisy Channel, you can prevent Safari from keeping a history of the websites you visit without using Private Browsing mode.

This could be an optimal solution for some users because Private Browsing also disables AutoFill and other useful web-browsing features. With these functions disabled, the Safari experience doesn’t feel as robust, and you’ll spend more time manually-entering information.

After you install NoHistorySafari, you can tap the Bookmarks button from the tab bar at the bottom of the app as you normally would, and you’ll notice that the History cell is renamed to “Nothing,” as shown above.

When you tap on the “Nothing” cell, nothing will happen. Rather than being brought to what used to be a list of all the web pages you’ve once visited, anyone trying to snoop through your history will become stymied.

The additional layer of privacy you get from NoHistorySafari will give you the peace of mind you want, while still letting you have full access to all the features of Safari that would be disabled in Private Browsing mode. With that in mind, I would recommend checking it out if this sounds useful to you.

NoHistorySafari doesn’t have any options to configure and is available for free from Cydia’s BigBoss repository and works on all jailbroken iOS 10 devices.

Do you like the idea of hiding your Safari search history without enabling Private Browsing mode? Share why or why not in the comments section below.

  • Mr_Coldharbour

    I use Safari and any other browser in private browsing mode exclusively. No exceptions really. While this tweak does seem very useful, does it actually not store/log browsing history or does it simply hide it from the user in the UI front?

    • It will only hide it, so if you don’t boot jailbroken or you uninstall the tweak, your history will still be there. So your method will be the most secure, while this tweak just offers cheap privacy in the stock app.

  • Blacklight: Retribution

    for all those alone sessions

  • Young God

    Yeah but jailbreak is dead