How to disable Direct Message read receipts on Twitter

By , Sep 9, 2016

Twitter DM Read Receipts Tutorial

Twitter has made some new changes to the Direct Message system that lets its users communicate with one another privately. Among those changes is the addition of sending and receiving read receipts.

In this tutorial, we’ll show you how you can disable those read receipts so you’re not letting everyone know when you see their Direct Messages.

Read receipts simply aren’t for everybody, but Twitter has automatically enabled them on everyone’s profile by default. For some people, it’s a privacy concern, for others, it’s a phobia.

Twitter notes that you can only see read receipts from the mobile app, and not from the website, so if you haven’t noticed it before, that could be the reason why.

Nevertheless, you can disable read receipts from Twitter’s Direct Message system whether you’re using Twitter on the web or on your iPhone, so we’ll show you both ways. No matter which device you do this from, it will be saved to your Twitter profile settings across all your devices.

Disabling read receipts from the website

If you’ll be doing this from your web browser on the computer, you’ll need to follow these steps:

1) Go to the Twitter website in your favorite web browser and log in if you haven’t already.

2) From the top right of the page, click on your profile picture.

Twitter Disable DM Read Receipts Profile Settings

3) When the drop-down menu opens, click on the Settings button.

4) After you’re in your profile’s settings page, click on the Security and privacy option.

Twitter Disable Direct Messages Read Receipts Profile Security and Privacy

5) Scroll all the way down and find an option called Send/Receive Read Receipts and un-check it.

Twitter Direct Messages Read Receipts Disabled Save Changes

6) Click on the blue Save changes button after you’ve un-checked the check box.

7) Twitter may prompt you for your password to save your changes. Enter it, then click on the blue Save changes button again and Twitter will disable your DM read receipts.

Twitter Direct Message Read Receipts Disable PAssword

And that’s all you have to do!

Disabling read receipts from the mobile app

If you don’t feel like logging in with a web browser, you can also make things easier on yourself by doing it from the mobile app on your iPhone, iPod touch, or iPad. Here’s how:

1) Launch the Twitter app and tap on the Me tab at the bottom right of the app to view your profile.

2) Tap on the Settings cog button to the right of your profile picture.

Disable Twitter Direct Message read Receipts From the iOS App 1

3) Now, from the pop-up list of options, tap on the Settings button.

4) In the next window, open the Privacy and safety cell.

Twitter Direct Message Read Receipts Disable in iOS App 2

5) Now, turn off the Send/Receive read receipts toggle switch. It’s the third option down from the top of the list.

6) Tap on the blue Done button at the top right of the app to save your settings.

And that’s all there is to it!

Now that you have the option disabled, no one will know when you read their direct messages. At the same time, you also will not get to see when other people have read yours, so that’s the trade-off you make by disabling this setting.

Fortunately, now your privacy remains in-tact as well!

  • Share:
  • Follow:
  • Sailor_V90

    How do you turn off “Suggested Apps” in iOS 10?

  • Laura

    I would love to have the option, but I don’t. I’ve updated the app and I’ve uninstalled/reinstalled. Nothing. Any suggestions?