iTunes trust this computer teaser 001

Upon connecting an iPhone, iPod touch or iPad to iTunes through USB for the first time, a prompt pops up asking you to confirm access to the iOS device. The same prompt appears when another device is attempting to access the files of your iOS device for the first time, or just periodically as a safety measure.

But what if you accidentally trusted a computer? Is there an easy way to untrust it? Prior to iOS 8, you needed to reset an iOS device to its factory settings in order to remove all trusted connections.

But there is a more elegant way of doing this now. In this tutorial, we’re going to cover untrusting computers and devices you trusted from your iPhone or iPad.

What’s a trusted device?

A trusted device can access the files and settings of your iOS device, import photos, access movies and videos, contacts and other items. The data stored on your iOS device isn’t exposed before you enter your passcode, if any, and choose to trust the connected computer or device.

If you choose not to trust the connected computer you will still be able to charge your device through a USB cable but the computer won’t be permitted to access any content on your iPhone or iPad.

Things to know before untrusting devices

The below method of untrusting devices will reset all location and privacy settings on your iPhone, iPod touch or iPad so you’ll need to recreate them afterwards. Though a tad clunky, this workaround is more user-friendly versus resetting the entire device to its factory settings like on iOS editions prior to iOS 8.

Another small catch: untrusting a computer from your iOS device will also reset the Trust This Computer alert on that device for all computers it has connected to.

Now, let’s get to it.

How to untrust your computer from iPhone and iPad

Step 1: Open Settings on your iPhone, iPod touch or iPad.

Step 2: Navigate to the General > Reset section.

iTunes trust this computer iPhone screenshot 003

Step 3: Now tap on the Reset Location & Privacy option. You will be asked to enter your device’s passcode, if you have set it up.

iTunes trust this computer iPhone screenshot 002

Step 4: Confirm that you wish to reset all location and privacy settings on your device.

Step 5: Close the Settings when complete.

Tip: Now’s a good time to recreate your location and privacy customizations. Just visit the Privacy section within the Settings app to customize location and privacy settings to what you had prior to the reset.

iTunes trust this computer iPhone screenshot 001

Now when you connect your iPhone, iPod touch or iPad to iTunes with a USB connection, the familiar dialog box with Trust and Don’t Trust options will appear on the screen of your iOS device.

Hit Trust to give iTunes access to your iOS device.

If you tap on Don’t Trust, you’ll see this alert each time you connect your device to that computer. If your iOS device is passcode locked, you need to unlock it before you’ll see the alert.

If you’re about to sync the device with iTunes, click Accept.

Another method of untrusting computers from iOS devices

If you don’t like the idea of reseting your privacy and location settings just to break all trusted connections, you can just as easily untrust all computers by reseting your network settings.

Simply navigate to Settings > General > Reset on your iOS device and tap on Reset Network Settings. This will also reset your network settings and saved Wi-Fi passwords so you’ll need to recreate these items at a later stage.

Tip: Wiping you device clean also untrusts all connected computers.

When to untrust a computer

Some of the situations that might warrant untrusting a Mac or Windows PC from your iPhone, iPod touch or iPad include:

  • You accidentally trusted a computer: If you accidentally trusted a computer, untrust it using the above tricks.
  • You trusted a friend’s computer: If I’m transferring a friend’s media over to my 128GB iPhone 6 Plus and the file is too big, I resort to syncing with their iTunes. After that, I untrust a friend’s computer from my iPhone.

These are just two common examples when untrusting computers may be necessary.

Each users has his or her own needs and specific ways of doing things so you might want to untrust all computers from your iOS devices for reasons not stated above.

If you like this tip-to, please pass it along to your friends.

Have a handy tip or an idea for a future tutorial? Shoot us your ideas to tips@iDownloadBlog.com and we’ll take your submissions into account in future coverage planning.

  • See

    Why does it ask me to trust this computer when i plug my iphone into the PS4…

    • The same reasons as stated above: security.

      Any device attempting to access files on your iOS device must be trusted first, be it a Mac or Windows PC running iTunes or the PlayStation console.

      • Whats strange is when connected to a car for iPod functionality it doesn’t ask.

      • BobNation

        Isnt that because its just charging it and connects to the car itself via bluetooth instead or something?

      • No my car has both Bluetooth(of-course no charging), and USB iPod connection which does charge it too. As far as I know the PS4 is only charging it too and cannot browse system files either.

    • Lương Trí Khải

      I am not sure, but basically, PS4 is a computer. And iOS just care you trust that computer or not. It will not know you can or cannot manipulate file system (of iOS devices).

      Or maybe your PS4 will be hacked and hacker can use your PS4 as a normal computer.

  • White Michael Jackson

    Nice time to break out my old windows laptop.

  • ready1take1

    is there a way to always trust?

    • There’s one such prompt per device when you first connect with it so it’s kinda Always Trust This Device 😀

      • ready1take1

        yeah but sometimes it’ll pop up on a computer i’ve already trusted. It’d be nice to be able to bypass it, i always trust the computers i plug my phone into, if i didn’t trust them, i wouldn’t plug into them in the first place.

      • But what if you didn’t know you were plugging your device into a computer? The reason the security feature was added was after the revelation that some chargers had computers embedded inside them and would access an iOS device to pull data off of it.

  • Csempe Kitty

    Everyone!, if you use AT&T locked iphones, and desire to fully unlock it, I recommend one to check out Att-iphoneunlocking, it’s one of the most reputable unlocking site for AT&T stuff, we are ready to factory unlock the company new 6 and 6PLUS as well.