iOS 11 included many new features and enhancements, big and small alike.
For example, a revamped storage-management section became available in Settings. Speaking of which, users can appreciate another new feature that allows them to optionally have their device automatically uninstall apps that haven’t been used in a while.
If you venture to Settings → iTunes & App Store, you’ll notice a new toggle at the bottom of the screen, labeled Offload Unused Apps. Setting that switch to the ON position shall prompt iOS to delete rarely used apps from your device in order to make more room for your photos, videos, documents and so forth.
iOS uses Siri intelligence to determine your usage of apps.
The feature’s description notes that documents and data belonging to uninstalled apps will be kept on your device in case the app is reinstalled. “Reinstalling the app will place back your data, if the app is still available in the App Store,” notes Apple.
This feature is disabled by default.
Rightfully so, if I may add. Had Apple enabled it by default, novice users would’ve been stunned discovering iOS had deleted their apps for seemingly no apparent reason.