Apple expands Safari webpage translation to additional countries

The new feature in iOS 14, iPadOS 14 and macOS 11 Big Sur that allows you to translate whole webpages in Safari is now available in Brazil and Germany.

Translation features in iOS 14, iPadOS 14 and macOS 11 Big Sur are available via Siri, in the Safari browser and through a new app on iOS, called Translate. Regardless of the method used, translating one language to another uses the same underlying technology.

How to translate webpages in Safari

Despite that, Apple for reasons unknown decided to debut Safari webpage translation in fewer languages than the eleven languages supported in the Translate app. Specifically, the feature was limited to the United States and Canada at launch.

Filipe Espósito, 9to5Mac:

Some 9to5Mac readers from countries like Brazil and Germany told us that the translating option is now working in Safari, which is something that has definitely changed today. I was able to confirm that the Safari translator is now working on my devices with the system region set to Brazil.

Now both the Translate app and the Safari translator work with the following languages:

  • Arabic
  • Chinese (Mandarin, Simplified)
  • English (US & UK)
  • French (France)
  • German (Germany)
  • Italian (Italy)
  • Japanese
  • Korean
  • Portuguese (Brazil)
  • Russian
  • Spanish (Spain)

Apple apparently remotely enabled new locale support for the Safari translator.

Safari translation is now working on iOS 14.1, the recently released iOS 14.2, the macOS Big Sur Beta and macOS Big Sur Release Candidate. Upon visiting a webpage in a supported language, Safari displays a translate icon in the address field. Hit the icon and watch as the whole webpage instantly replaces the original text with translation, keeping the layout intact.