How to Disable Automatic iPhone Backup in iTunes

By , Feb 18, 2010

backoff

If you’re like me, you must sometimes get annoyed at how long syncing your iPhone with iTunes can take. Turns out that the syncing process doesn’t take that long at all. However, the automatic backup of your iPhone is what takes the longest.

I found out thanks to JAiB about a tool called BackOff, which easily allows you to turn on and off the automatic backup of your iPhone in iTunes.

BackOff is a free PC and Mac utility enabling you to speed up the sync of your iPhone or iPod Touch by turning off the automatic backup in iTunes. Storage of large amounts of data can seriously lenghten iTunes sync. Disable iTunes Auto-Backup feature with BackOff and speed up your syncs!

BackOff is a free tool (download here) that work for both Mac and PC and is compatible with all iPhones and iPod Touch.

Patrick was able to try it out and here is what he has to say about it:

Just to give an idea of the impact this app can have, when I tested it this afternoon, a sync with backup turned on had taken over 20 minutes before I canceled it.  Sync with backup turned off took under two minutes!

Looks like a winner to me. What do you think about BackOff?

  • Share:
  • Follow:
  • Polemicist

    Again you give me more reason to come to your blog. :D

    Very interesting. Downloading it now. Thanks for the tip…

  • http://www.sammyb.com.au/ SammyB

    Just tried this out and i must say i am impressed!! From a 8min syncing down to 40secs… makes life a whole lot easier =]

    THANK YOU!!!

  • iphony

    Downloading, will comment later, but thanks anyway!

  • niurka

    Hi I just bought iphone 3gs 32gb and i paid a guy $40.00 to unlocked, and after 2 hours the phone went off and i got the itunes pic, is something that i can do to make it work again, thanks

  • iPhone 3GS

    @ niurka

    sounds like your 3GS requires a tethered jailbreak. this means you’ll need to run blackra1n each time you reboot your iPhone.

  • iPhone3GS

    @ niurka

    sounds like your 3GS requires a tethered jailbreak. this means you’ll need to run blackra1n each time you reboot your iPhone.

  • iPhone3GS

    @Sebastien

    Why did you block my user name “iPhone 3GS” from being able to post comments? I’ve always been a helpful contributor to this website.

    • http://www.iphonedownloadblog.com Sebastien

      @iphone3GS I just replied to another one of your comments. I did not block your username at all. It might be caught as spam. I’m on iPhone right now and can’t look into it but I will check this out later tonight. Sorry about the trouble but you can believe me when I say I didn’t block you.

  • Pierrick

    What is the difference between this tip and untick “Synchronized automatically when plugged” ?

  • Fatih K

    Works great. Thanks

  • Jake

    you guys are AWESOME! helped me so much. thanks.