In-App Subscriptions

How to opt out of receiving subscription renewal emails from Apple

To help you stay on top of your subscriptions, Apple by default sends out renewal receipts anytime one of the services you're subscribed to charges your payment method on file for another installment. Thankfully, you can easily opt out of receiving Apple's subscription renewal emails if you don't want to be informed of that monthly charge of ten bucks for Apple Music or a Netflix charge or any other recent subscription renewal. Follow the steps in our tutorial to learn how to stop receiving subscription renewal emails from Apple.

iOS 13 cautions you if an app you’re deleting has a subscription still active

One of the tweaks in the second developer beta of iOS 13 that dropped yesterday is a prompt for when an app you're trying to delete from an iPhone or iPad has an active subscription.

As first noted by MacStories' editor-in-chief Federico Viticci yesterday afternoon, iOS 13 beta 2 now informs you if an app you're deleting has a subscription still active.

"Do you want to keep your subscription for this app?," asks the prompt. "Your subscription to this app can still be used on other devices," reads the alert text. The warning message includes precise information about when said subscription is set to renew automatically.

It also offers a Manage Subscriptions button to jump to the corresponding sub-section within the Settings app, and Keep, which keeps the subscription for the app being deleted.

While this may seem like an unnecessary feature addition in iOS 13, consider for a moment a bunch of cases of unwanted billing that were in the news not that long time ago because people didn't read prompts. On top of that, how many people use a subscription-tracking app like Bobby for iPhone to keep track of all the active subscriptions they have?

I know what I'm subscribed to and when my next billing cycles are due, but not everyone does. Keeping those people (who I suspect are in the majority) informed about the active recurring subscription for the app they're trying to delete could save them from bill shock.

For the rest of us, it's going to be an additional tap before that app gets wiped out.

What do you think of this feature?

Let us know in the comments!

Three ways developers will soon be able to win past subscribers back

Apple recently previewed new discount options for auto-renewing subscriptions in iPhone, iPad, Apple TV and Mac apps which will permit developers to offer a discounted price for a specific duration for existing and previously subscribed customers. Today, the company has detailed three ways app makers will soon be able to win past subscribers back.