delete all settings

A new bug has been discovered in iOS 8 that will indadvertedly delete iCloud Drive documents. MacRumors reports that selecting the ‘Reset All Settings’ option from the Reset menu in the Settings app of iOS 8 will erase iWork-related files in iCloud Drive.

The issue here is that when the ‘Reset All Settings’ option is selected, users are specifically told that “no data or media will be deleted.” But that doesn’t seem to be the case with iOS 8, as MacRumors says it has confirmed the process is also deleting select files.

Again, these deleted files seem to be limited to iWork documents, so if you don’t use these apps, you really have nothing to worry about. However, those who do use iWork be warned, as there is not an easy way to restore deleted iCloud Drive files without a backup.

It’s really best to avoid using the ‘Reset All Settings’ option for right now, until we can verify the issue has been fixed. At this time, users are able to access iCloud Drive files via iCloud.com, but the service won’t be fully functional until OS X Yosemite lands next month.

Have you noticed your iWork documents disappearing in iCloud Drive after using ‘Reset All Settings?’

[MacRumors]