Just like you remove your history in Apple Maps, you can delete your search, review, and share history in Google Maps. Maybe you want to keep some items from showing up in your Recent searches or forget an entire day of Google Maps activity.

You can view and remove places from your history on your mobile device or the web. And you can choose to delete individual locations, a day or week, or every place in that history. Here, we’ll show you how to do just that, delete your Google Maps history.

Remove your history in Google Maps

Your Google Maps history includes locations you’ve searched for, reviewed, and shared with others.

Delete Google Maps history on iPhone and iPad

If you use the Google Maps app on iPhone or iPad, you can remove locations from your history easily.

Delete specific entries

You might want to get rid of certain locations that show up in your history. Open Google Maps and follow these steps to remove one on iPhone and iPad.

1) Tap your profile photo or initials and select Settings.

2) Under Account Settings, choose Maps history.

3) Scroll down to see your list of locations and tap the X for one you want to remove.

4) For the first one you delete, you’ll see a message letting you know the action is complete. You can keep this message from displaying for 30 days by checking that box at the bottom. If you do this, you’ll only see a brief pop-up at the bottom when the deletion completes.

5) Tap the X to exit that message and continue to delete other locations the same way if you like.

Google Maps Delete History for Locations on iPhone

Delete all history or by date

You can also remove items from your history by date or all of your history.

1) Follow Steps 1 and 2 above to access your Maps history.

2) Go down to the Filter by date line and tap the Delete drop-down box.

3) There, you can delete history from the last hour or day, all time, or a custom date range.

4) If prompted, confirm the action by tapping Delete.

5) Tap Done when you finish removing items from your history.

Google Maps Delete History Filter on iPhone

Delete Google Maps history on the web

You can also delete items from your history on the Google Maps website. And as you’ll see, it looks just like it does on iPhone and iPad.

Delete specific entries

To remove certain locations one at a time online, head to Google Maps, sign into your account, and follow these steps.

1) Click the Menu button on the top left in the Search box.

2) Scroll to the bottom of the list and pick Maps activity.

3) You’ll see your list of locations. Click the X for one you want to remove.

4) If prompted, confirm the action by tapping Delete.

Google Maps Delete History for Locations on the Web

Delete all history or by date

You can delete all of your Google Maps history or items by date as well.

1) Follow Steps 1 and 2 above to access your Maps activity.

2) Go down to the Filter by date line and click the Delete drop-down box.

3) You can then delete history from the last hour or day, all time, or a custom date range.

Google Maps Delete History Filter on the Web

4) If prompted, confirm the action by tapping Delete.

You’ll receive similar messages when you delete items from the Google Maps website as you do on iPhone and iPad. The messages are brief and pop-up in the corner.

Google Maps Delete History Message on the Web

Wrapping it up

Whether you want to remove all of your history or only certain pieces of it, Google Maps makes it easy on your mobile device or the web.

And if you want to save your history as a backup before you remove something, check out how to download your Google Maps data.

Which maps app do you prefer, Apple Maps or Google Maps, and why? Or do you use a different service that you think beats them both? Let us know!