Twitter for iPhone and iPad was updated in the App Store this morning with a new feature that allows you to choose who can reply to your tweets.

Limiting tweet replies exits beta

Twitter has been testing this feature since mid-May, and now it appears to be ready for prime time because Twitter for iPhone and iPad has been updated on the App Store with the following notice in release notes:

In May, we tested a new way to have a chat with exactly who you want, so you can create and consume more meaningful changes. Now, everyone can try this new feature and choose who can reply to their tweets.

This is a per-tweet setting.

People who are not permitted to reply to your tweet but are in its audience may see a message “you can’t reply to this” tweet in their timeline. As an example, allowing replies for only people you follow means that people who don’t follow you on Twitter will see a greyed-out icon.

Replies and retweets inherit the same restrictions as the root tweet. However, retweets with comments won’t inherit those restrictions. Once your tweet is live, you cannot adjust conversation participants.

The wider rollout of the feature may be happening in stages because some people still couldn’t see the feature after updating their copy of Twitter app. If you don’t see the feature yet in your Twitter app, check back a few days later.

Twitter for iOS is a free download from the App Store.

How to limit tweet replies

Top limit who can reply to your tweets, do the following:

  1. Open the official Twitter app or access the web interface at twitter.com.
  2. Select the compose tweet box to start creating your post.
  3. Tap the globe icon at the bottom of the compose tweet box.

Using this feature prior to posting lets you choose who can reply to your tweet:

  • Everyone: Twitter’s default setting lets anyone post replies. For public accounts, it means everyone will continue to be able to reply. If your tweets are protected, the setting means that only people who follow you will continue to be able to reply.
  • Only people you follow: Only accounts that you follow, as well as anyone you mention in your published tweet, will be allowed to post replies.
  • Only people you mention: Only people mentioned in the tweet will be able to reply.

Now when you hit the Tweet button, the post will take into account your audience choice.

When the tweet is live, other users can see you’ve limited who can reply to it.

For further information, read our dedicated tutorial covering how to limit tweet replies.