iPhone Privacy Settings App Screen

When you install a third-party app on your iPhone that wants access to something, you’ll receive a prompt asking if it’s okay. They might ask to access your camera, microphone, Photos, or Calendar. If you want to use the app, you likely accept and move on. But over time, you probably forget who you’ve given access to and for what.

Here, we’ll show you how to see which iOS apps can access such items. You can then decide if they should still have that access or if you want to revoke it.

See which apps you have granted access to

Open the Settings on your iPhone or iPad and then tap Privacy.

You’ll see each app or item on your device that access can be granted for, from Contacts and Calendars to your microphone and camera.

iPhone Privacy Settings Apps

Tap one of these and you’ll then see the apps and services that have access to it.

Some of the apps you’ll find won’t be of a surprise. For example, apps like Messenger, Telegram, and Spark will have access to your Contacts. And if you use another calendar app like Fantastical or Google Calendar, they’ll have access to your Calendars.

iPhone Privacy Settings Contacts Calendars

But if you take a look at Bluetooth, Microphone, or Camera, you might scratch your head as to why some of these apps need access to those items.

If you want to remove access for any app, just turn the toggle off. If you then use the app and realize why it needed access, you can grant it again if prompted or just head back to Settings > Privacy and turn that toggle back on.

iPhone Privacy Settings Camera

More on iOS privacy

For more information on privacy and related settings on your device, take a look at these additional iDB articles. You can also head to our Privacy section.

Wrapping it up

Being aware of which apps have access to your photos, camera, and other items is a good way to stay in-the-know when it comes to your own privacy.

As you look through the apps you’ve given access to on your iPhone or iPad, let us know if you find some that you’ve decided to turn off. And if you have any tips like these you’d like to share for iOS privacy, you can comment below or, as always, hit us up on Twitter!