WWDC 2018 banner

Similar to WWDCs of the last several years, today’s keynote presentation will be live-streamed. The many Apple fans and enthusiasts from around the world who unfortunately are not in a position to attend Apple’s developers conference can still tune in from the comfort of their own couch and see what’s new in the world of iOS, macOS, tvOS, watchOS and more.

Tim Cook and other Apple executives will be taking the stage at the San Jose Convention Center later today to kick off Worldwide Developers Conference with a big keynote address.

No matter what type of device you’re using, you can watch the keynote live.

In this brief tutorial, we’ll go over all the streaming steps for every operating system and platform. Here’s how you can live-stream the WWDC 2018 keynote on your devices.

How to live-stream WWDC 2018 keynote

The live stream is accessible on virtually any device, provided it meets the right software requirements. One of the following setups is required to watch the WWDC 2018 keynote live:

  • iPhone, iPad or iPod touch using Safari on iOS 10 or later
  • Mac using Safari on macOS Sierra 10.12 or later
  • PC using Windows 10 and Microsoft Edge
  • Third-generation Apple TV or later with the official WWDC app

The WWDC 2018 entry on the Apple Events webpage notes that other platforms, like Android, may also be able to access the stream using recent versions of the Chrome or Firefox browser which natively support modern streaming technologies like MSE, H.264 and AAC.

How to watch WWDC 2018 on iPhone, iPad or Mac

If you’re using an Apple device to stream the keynote, then you’re all set in terms of software as long as everything is up to date. Just visit the WWDC 2018 live event webpage at 10am PDT / 1 pm EST in the Safari browser and wait for the even to begin.

The live stream should go live as soon as Apple begins broadcasting, which is usually a few minutes before the keynote’s scheduled to kick off. If it doesn’t, try refreshing the page and that should jump-start your viewing process.

How to watch WWDC 2018 keynote on Apple TV

If you have an Apple TV and will be tuning in from the comfort of your own living room sofa, there’s a different process to live-stream the keynote on it depending on the type of the Apple set-top box you have.

On the third-generation and earlier Apple TV model, an app icon is automatically added to the Home screen for tuning in to WWDC for your convenience. Owners of the fourth-generation Apple TV or Apple TV 4K must manually download Apple’s Events app from App Store to watch the WWDC 2018 keynote live or access its replay.

After the app is on your Home screen, simply open it before 10am PDT / 1pm EST and the keynote will begin streaming to your big screen TV automatically.

How to watch WWDC 2018 keynote on Windows PC

If you’re using a Windows 10-powered PC, visit the WWDC 2018 event webpage in Microsoft’s Edge web browser at 10am PDT / 1pm EST. Microsoft Edge supports HLS streaming, much like Safari does on your Mac or iOS device, for a seamless viewing experience.

Windows 8.1 and earlier users can tune in by following these steps:

1) Download the VLC app from the official VideoLan website.

2) Open the VLC app and click Media, then choose the option Open Network Stream.

2) When prompted to enter a source, enter the following URL:

https://p-events-delivery.akamaized.net/18oijbasfvuhbfsdvoijhbsdfvljkb6/m3u8/atv_mvp.m3u8

3) Click on the Play button after 10am PDT / 1pm EST to watch the live stream via VLC Media Player.

How to watch WWDC 2018 keynote on Android

If you’re on the other side of town and are tuning in from an Android device, then you’ll be happy to know there’s a process available for you as well. Just follow these steps:

1) Download the VLC app from Play Store.

2) Open the VLC app on your Android device.

3) Tap the Menu button, then tap Stream.

2) When asked for a streaming source, enter the following URL:

https://p-events-delivery.akamaized.net/17qopibbefvoiuhbsefvbsefvopihb06/m3u8/hls_mvp.m3u8

3) Tap on the Play button after 10am PDT / 1pm EST and the live stream will be playing from your Android device through the VLC app.

Tuning in from other parts of the world?

If you’re not from the United States and you’re wondering when the WWDC 2018 keynote will begin for you, the following time zone conversions may be useful:

  • Adelaide, Australia: Tuesday at 2:30am ACST
  • Anchorage, Alaska: Monday at 9:00am AKDT
  • Auckland, New Zealand: Tuesday at 5:00am NZST
  • Beijing, China: Tuesday at 1:00am CST
  • Berlin, Germany: Monday at 7:00pm CEST
  • Cape Town, South Africa: Monday at 7:00pm SAST
  • Cupertino, California: Monday at 10:00 am PDT
  • Dallas, Texas: Monday at 12:00 noon CDT
  • Delhi, India: Monday at 10:30pm IST
  • Denver, Colorado: Monday at 11:00am MDT
  • Dubai, United Arab Emirates: Monday at 9:00pm GST
  • Halifax, Canada: Monday at 2:00pm ADT
  • Helsinki, Finland: Monday at 8:00pm EEST
  • Hong Kong, China: Tuesday at 1:00am HKT
  • Honolulu, Hawaii: Monday at 7:00am HAST
  • Istanbul, Turkey: Monday at 8:00pm TRT
  • Jakarta, Indonesia: Tuesday at 12:00am WIB
  • London, United Kingdom: Monday at 6:00pm BST
  • Moscow, Russia: Monday at 8:00pm MSK
  • New York, New York: Monday at 1:00pm EDT
  • Paris, France: Monday at 7:00pm CEST
  • Perth, Australia: Tuesday at 1:00am AWST
  • Phoenix, Arizona: Monday at 10:00am MST
  • Raleigh, North Carolina: Monday at 1:00pm EDT
  • Rio de Janeiro, Brazil: Monday at 2:00pm BRT
  • San Francisco, California  Monday at 10:00am PDT
  • Seoul, South Korea: Tuesday at 2:00am KST
  • Singapore: Tuesday at 1:00am SGT
  • Sydney, Australia: Tuesday at 3:00am AEST
  • Tokyo, Japan: Tuesday at 2:00am JST
  • Toronto, Canada: Monday at 1:00pm EDT
  • Vancouver, Canada: Monday at 10:00am PDT

Follow along with iDownloadBlog!

If you’re as excited as we are to watch the keynote to see what Apple has in store, and want to stay abreast of Apple’s WWDC 2018 announcements, then be sure to stay tuned to iDB throughout the day for in-depth coverage of all the latest announcements and releases.

Apple will be hosting various developer sessions the entire week that will undoubtedly provide an even closer look at the latest under-the-hood technologies and platform features.

We won’t be live-tweeting the keynote because we’d like to save you from notification hell, but feel free to follow @iDownloadBlog on Twitter for the latest headlines as they emerge.

We’re expecting to see previews of the major new iOS 12, watchOS 5, macOS 10.14 and tvOS 12 software updates for the iPhone, iPad, iPod touch, Apple Watch, Mac and Apple TV devices. We are not holding our collective breath for new hardware announcements save for perhaps new MacBook Pros with 32GB RAM and Intel’s speedy Coffee Lake processors.

Will you be watching the WWDC 2018 keynote live?

Share in the comments section below!