Whenever you make a Google search query while being logged in to any service from the company, your search is saved to your Google account’s activity. This is designed to help improve your search experience by increasing the amount of relevant things you’ll see.

For the most part, this depends on how you use your Google account, and if you’re more of an iOS user, then you might not tap into these features as much as, say, an Android user would.

In this tutorial, we’ll show you how to view and delete your Google search query history, a step you can take to increase your privacy by preventing others from seeing what you’ve searched for.

When will Google remember my search query history?

It should be mentioned from the start that Google won’t remember what you’ve searched for unless you are signed in with a Google account. If you aren’t, then there will be no search query history to look back on.

On the other hand, if you are signed in with a Google account, your search queries are stored inside of the My Activity section of your Google account, which is essentially a timeline of everything you’ve done via your account.

This is where this tutorial comes in…

If you are signed in with an account, and you recently searched for something that you don’t want others to see, whether it’s because you were doing gift shopping or wanted to ask the internet an embarrassing question that you don’t want other computer users to see, then you’ll need to know how to view and remove those history items.

How to view your Google search history

To view a running history of your Google search queries, you can follow these steps:

1) Sign into Google if you haven’t already by visiting the Google web page.

2) Click on the circular Profile button at the top right of the page, then click on the blue My Account button.

3) Scroll down slightly, and click on the blue Manage your Google Activity link.

4) Scroll down some more and under the Review activity section, click on the blue Go to My Activity link.

Now you’ll see a timeline of everything you’ve done with your Google account. This of course includes your search history, but also the YouTube videos you watched and much more. As you can see, here we have a running history of Google search queries:

Deleting Google search query history items in bulk

Now that you’ve found your Google search query history, you can easily clear that in bulk from your activity page by following one of the three sets of tips below. Keep in mind that after you delete something, there is no way to get it back.

Deleting small groups of Google search query items

To delete small groups of search query items, scroll through the timeline and pick a group you want to delete, then follow these steps:

1) Click on the Menu button in the header section of a timeline item containing the queries you want to delete.

2) Click on the Delete button that appears in the pop-up menu.

3) You may get the following prompt; choose to check or un-check the box based on your own will, then click the OK button.

4) Confirm your Google search query deletion by clicking on the Delete button in the prompt:

Now all of the Google search queries that were in that section should be removed from your Google account, and as such, they will no longer appear in bold black text inside the search bar when you begin to use Google some more to search for more things on the internet.

Deleting Google search history items based on a date range

If you want to delete all history items that appear in your account history for a specific date range, you can use these steps instead:

1) Click on the Menu button at the very top of the web page.

2) Click on the Delete activity by option in the drop-down menu.

3) Choose a date range and the type of product you want to delete the history of. In our case, we must select Search under the All Products drop down menu. If you want to delete your entire Google history regardless of the product, just keep All products selected in the drop down. Click on the blue Delete button:

Now anything that was searched for in between these date ranges will be deleted from your Google account activity history.

Deleting all Google search query items

To delete absolutely everything from your Google search query timeline, follow these steps:

1) Click on the Menu button at the top of the web page.

2) Click on the Delete activity by option in the drop-down menu.

3) Click on the Today option and change it to All time from the drop-down menu:

4) Next, click on the Delete button at the bottom of the page:

5) You will be asked to confirm your action, so click on the Delete button when prompted for a second time:

And now all of your data from your Google search query history should be removed!

Deleting Google search query history items singularly

If you just searched for one thing, and you really don’t want to go through all the steps above to delete just one search query, you’ll be happy to know Google has you covered.

If you simply go to the Google search bar at the top of a Google search page and you begin the search a second time, you’ll see your query appear in bold purple color, which indicates you’ve searched for it recently. Just to the right of that is a Remove button; click it:

After you click on the Remove button, your search query is removed from your Web search history.

Also read:

Now that you know how to remove searches from your Google search query history, you can keep family members from knowing what you’re Googling as gift ideas, or however else you plan to use this feature.

If you found this tutorial helpful, let us know in the comments below.