Instagram launches Saved Posts, expands live video to all US users

By , Dec 14, 2016

Instagram Saved Posts teaser 001

Instagram today announced a new feature in the mobile app for iOS and Android: Saved Posts. As the feature’s name suggests, this lets you save posts you’d like to revisit later (don’t worry, only you can see what you saved). Simply tap a new bookmark icon underneath a post in your feed to save it to a new, private tab on your profile, labeled Saved. This feature requires Instagram 10.2 for iOS, a free download from the App Store.

It’s nice that when you bookmark someone’s post they’re not able to tell that you’ve saved it. To learn more about Saved Posts, visit Instagram’s Help Center.

Instagram Saved Posts iPhone screenshot 001

As you know, Instagram began a staggered roll-out of live video broadcasts on Stories about a month ago. Two days ago, Instagram started expanding the feature to all U.S. users. Live video on Instagram was previously limited to a select group of test users.

You can broadcast live content for up to an hour and your followers will receive a notification when you go live. Just swipe over to the Stories camera and then tap a new Live button to start broadcasting video instantly.

When you’re done broadcasting, your live Story automatically disappears.

To discover live video content from other Instagrammers, visit the app’s Explore tab. Live video on Stories will be rolling out globally in the next few weeks, Instagram has said. For the time being, non-U.S. users can view live videos, but not create them.

Rival Twitter today launched the ability to broadcast live via its mobile app.

Instagram is available at no charge from the App Store.

Source: Instagram

  • Share:
  • Follow: