How to live stream today’s Apple “hello again” event

By , Oct 27, 2016

october event

Apple will be streaming its “Hello Again” keynote event from its home campus in Cupertino, California today.

If you want to tune into the event to see everything Apple brings to the table, then this post will have all the information you’ll need to learn how to stream the event live.

Streaming requirements

Just like every other time Apple live streams one its keynotes online, you have to meet certain requirements to watch live. Those are:

  • Any iOS 7.0 or later iPhone, iPod touch, or iPad and viewed with the Safari web browser
  • Any Mac running OS X 10.8.5 or later and viewed with the Safari 6.0.5 or later web browser
  • Any PC running Windows 10 and viewed with the Microsoft Edge web browser
  • Any Apple TV running software 6.2 or later, or the Apple TV 4 with any version of tvOS

How to stream from iOS or macOS

Apple always makes it the easiest for its loyal customers for tune in. If you’re using an iOS device or a Mac to live stream this event, all you need to do is visit the Apple Events web page in your Safari web browser.

It will begin at 10:00 A.M. PDT on Thursday, so you’ll want to load the website around this time to play the live stream. The video should load automatically; if not, you can refresh the page.

If you’re there a little early, no biggie, it will load when the time comes. If you are a little late, well sorry pal, you might have missed some of it.

How to stream from your Apple TV

If you have an Apple TV, you can stream from the comfort of your own living room couch, but the process is different depending on the model you have.

If you’re using an Apple TV 3rd generation or older, the event icon will appear on your Home screen automatically and you can select it with your remote to play it at 10:00 A.M. PDT on Thursday.

If you’re using the newer 4th generation Apple TV, you will need to download the free Apple Events app from the App Store, if you don’t already have it, and use it to stream the event. The video stream will start automatically by 10:00 A.M. PDT.

How to stream from a Windows PC

If you’re using a Windows PC, you can also tune in to watch the live stream. The process is different depending on the version of Windows you have installed.

Windows 10 users can simply launch the Edge web browser and visit the Apple Events web page. After doing so, the live stream will begin automatically at 10:00 A.M. PDT on Thursday.

Those running Windows 8.1 and earlier can use the VLC media player app. After installing it, if you don’t already have it, you can follow these steps:

1) Launch VLC Media Player and open the app’s menu.

2) Go into the streaming preferences and use the following streaming URL:

High Resolution

http://appleliveevents-i.akamaihd.net/hls/live/222436/16oibfvohbfvoihbdfvoihbefv10/master/4500/4500.m3u8

Low Resolution

http://appleliveevents-i.akamaihd.net/hls/live/222436/16oibfvohbfvoihbdfvoihbefv10/master/1800/1800.m3u8

3) Click the Play button at 10:00 A.M. PDT to watch the stream via the VLC app.

How to stream from an Android device

Even if you are using an Android device, whether it’s a smartphone or a tablet, you can stream the Apple event live. To do so, you should use the VLC app, similarly to the Windows steps above.

1) Launch the app from your Home screen and tap on the Menu button, then tap Stream.

2) After you’re asked for a streaming source, enter the following URL:

High Resolution

http://appleliveevents-i.akamaihd.net/hls/live/222436/16oibfvohbfvoihbdfvoihbefv10/master/4500/4500.m3u8

Low Resolution

http://appleliveevents-i.akamaihd.net/hls/live/222436/16oibfvohbfvoihbdfvoihbefv10/master/1800/1800.m3u8

3) Tap on the Play button after 10:00 A.M. PDT and the live stream will be playing via the VLC app.

Different time zone?

We understand not all of you are based out of the United States, so to make things easier for you, we’ve listed a number of various time zones below that might overlap with your location:

  • Beijing, China: Friday 1:00 A.M. CST
  • Berlin, Germany: Thursday 7:00 P.M. CEST
  • Hong Kong, China: Friday 1:00 A.M. CST
  • London, United Kingdom: Thursday 6:00 P.M. BST
  • Los Angeles, United States: Thursday 10:00 A.M. PDT
  • Mexico City, Mexico: Thursday 12:00 P.M. CDT
  • Moscow, Russia: Thursday 8:00 P.M. MSK
  • New York, United States: Thursday 1:00 P.M. EST
  • Paris, France: Thursday 7:00 P.M. CEST
  • Recife, Brazil: Thursday 2:00 P.M. BRT
  • Rome, Italy: Thursday 7:00 P.M. CEST
  • Salt Lake City, United States: Thursday 11:00 A.M. MDT
  • Sao Paulo, Brazil: Thursday 3:00 P.M. BRST
  • Sydney, Australia: Friday 4:00 A.M. AEDT
  • Tokyo, Japan: Friday 2:00 A.M. JST

What to expect

Tons of emphasis has been put on an upgraded lineup of MacBook Pro computers with an OLED touch bar and Touch ID integration, as well as refreshed MacBook Airs, and updated iMacs.

Not much is currently known about the specs of these machines just yet, but Apple is expected to continue using Intel chipsets in their systems for this generation rather than moving to the ARM platform. New higher-resolution displays are also possible and USB-C is expected to play a big part in Apple’s newer notebooks.

Whatever Apple decides to do at this event is still up in the air and we won’t know for sure until it’s over, but you can stay tuned to iDB for the latest!

Nevertheless, are you excited to watch and see what’s new? Share below!

  • Share:
  • Follow:
  • Mr_Coldharbour

    Thanks for adding the time zones, really helpful. I’m looking forward to seeing this Mac event, I’ve really missed those.

  • Dave Kurt

    In this week’s Let’s Talk iOS, you mentioned “Live coverage,” like, live video coverage? Similarly to TWiT live.

    If so, where can that be watched?

    • Ángel Javier Esquivel

      off-topic but I swear I read Live Courage, like taking the headphone jack.

  • Ninja Ass

    Nothing to expect from apple ..

  • philip Mills

    arrrrr

  • Y2J: Keeper of the List

    I’m hoping for a gold refreshed Air

  • In Sydney it will be at 4am, since we’re in daylight savings. Although it’s 90 mins to go so this won’t help anyone.

    But next time, choose a different time zone resource site 😉

    AEST /= AEDT

  • Com’on iDB, show Brazil some love!
    Sao Paulo, Brazil: Thursday 3:00 P.M. BRST
    Recife, Brazil: Thursday 2:00 P.M. BRT