How to erase Safari browsing history and data

By , Jan 18, 2016

safari-icon

As you surf the web in Safari on your iPhone, iPod touch, iPad or Mac, the browser builds a history of websites you visit, searches you perform and saves data on your device pertaining to your web activity.

You can easily erase all records that Safari keeps of where you’ve browsed. This not only helps increase your privacy in Safari but also reclaims some of the storage that these files occupy.

In this tutorial, you will learn how to erase Safari’s browsing history and data on iOS devices and Macs.

What does erasing browsing history do?

When you erase Safari’s browsing history on your iPhone, iPod touch or iPad, the following items will be removed from that device:

  • History of webpages you visited
  • Back and forward list for open webpages
  • Frequently visited site list
  • Cookies
  • Recent searches
  • Icons for open webpages
  • Websites added for Quick Website Search
  • Websites that asked to use your location

Deleting browsing history on the Mac removes the following items:

  • History of webpages you visited
  • The back and forward list for open webpages
  • Top Sites that aren’t marked as permanent
  • Frequently visited site list
  • Recent searches
  • Icons for open webpages
  • Snapshots saved for open webpages
  • List of items you downloaded (downloaded files aren’t removed)
  • Websites added for Quick Website Search
  • Websites that asked to use your location
  • Websites that asked to send you notifications
  • Websites with plug-in content you started by clicking a Safari Power Saver notice
  • Responses to requests to let websites use WebGL

If the device on which you erase your browsing history has Safari enabled in iCloud preferences, your browsing history and data will be removed from all of them. Deleting Safari’s browsing history doesn’t clear any browsing histories kept independently by websites you visited.

You should also rest assured that clearing your history, cookies and browsing data from Safari won’t change your AutoFill information.

How to erase Safari browsing history and data on iOS

Step 1: Open Settings on your iOS device.

Step 2: Tap on Safari.

Step 3: Select Clear History and Website Data in the section after the one under the headline Privacy & Security.

iOS 9 Safari clear history and browsing data iPhone screenshot 001

Step 4: Confirm by tapping Clear History and Data.

As mentioned, this won’t delete any browsing data kept independently by websites you visited. To delete those items and other stored information from Safari, tap the Settings → Safari → Advanced → Website Data → Remove All Website Data option.

How to erase Safari browsing history and data on OS X

Step 1: Open Safari on your Mac.

Step 2: Choose Clear History in Safari’s History menu.

Step 3: Select All History in a drop-down menu.

Step 4: Confirm by clicking the Clear History button.

OS X El Capitan Safari clear history and browsing data Mac screenshot 001

Again, clearing your browsing history and data on one device will remove these items from all of your other devices that have Safari turned on in iCloud preferences.

To surf the web in Safari without leaving a history, choose File → New Private Window in Safari for Mac, or tap on the tab icon in Safari for iOS and choose Private.

You can submit your how-to ideas at tips@iDownloadBlog.com.

  • Share:
  • Follow:
  • George

    Smh…

  • Rodney Coleman

    All this noob stuff