Apple invite (October 2014)

The iPad event is now just 18 hours away, and we can’t wait to see what announcements Apple has in store. A thinner, more powerful iPad Air 2 with Touch ID and a higher resolution display, refreshed iPad mini, and a 4K 27-inch iMac are just a few things rumored to be on the menu.

Apple has confirmed that it will be streaming the festivities to its website and various iOS devices, but for those who won’t be able to watch the keynote live, iDB has you covered. We will be here all day, providing coverage of all announcements made before, during and after the event.

Expect to see the website updated frequently throughout the day tomorrow, as we attempt to deliver the news as quickly and as accurately as possible. We will be covering Apple’s keynote live, and will be providing extended commentary on all major announcements and subsequent reports.

When

The event is slated to begin at 10 a.m. PST (Pacific Standard Time). That’s 11 a.m. Mountain Standard Time, 12 p.m. Central Time, and 1 p.m. Eastern Standard Time. And for all our overseas readers, look for the event to begin at:

London – 6:00 p.m.
Paris – 7:00 p.m.
Berlin – 7:00 p.m.
Tokyo – 2:00 a.m. (Friday)
Sydney – 4:00 a.m. (Friday)
Auckland – 6:00 a.m. (Friday)

Where

This event is being held at Apple’s Town Hall auditorium, located on its Cupertino campus. The venue is quaint compared to the massive Flint Center the company used for last month’s iPhone 6/Apple Watch event, underscoring the consensus that this keynote will be much more low-key.

What

As for hardware, there are a lot of potential items on the docket for tomorrow. Apple has already seemingly outed the ‘iPad Air 2’ and ‘iPad mini 3,’ and several corroborating reports are calling for new Retina display iMacs. And as far as surprise hardware announcements, the Mac mini, Apple TV and entire iPod family all line up with the event’s “it’s been way too long” tagline.

On the software side, we should hear more about OS X Yosemite, and finally get a release date. Apple Pay should also receive a mention, given that Apple pegged it for an October launch, and that would likely go hand-and-hand with iOS 8.1. Several assets related to the payment service have been uncovered in the developer betas of 8.1, and it’s believed it will be released in short order.

As usual, for all of the stuff we know, there is a ton of stuff we don’t, so our fingers are crossed for some big surprises. Make sure you tune into iDB tomorrow, you won’t want to miss this event!

  • iBanks

    Count me in

    • Alright. That’s one person. Hopefully a few more join us 🙂

      • justme

        me too

      • Matt Taylor

        Lol

    • Me three

  • Eddiepradom

    😉

    • Cristian Bustillo

      Hahaha

  • Tony Chen

    sydney is 4am, daylight savings

  • Nirvana

    I’m in! 🙂

  • NP92

    Sign me up. Apple is the future, even a Samsung fan knowns that, Also Apple haters knowning that, thats why Apple smiles at this and keep up the perfect work for US LOVERS!

  • andy

    Will ios 8.1 public version be out tomorrow after the show or is it the gm or beta ?

  • Shingo

    will it be live?