Following yesterday’s Path debacle about how the app uploads your entire address book to its servers without your knowledge, jailbreak developer Ryan Petrich decided to do what Apple should have done in the first place: having a notification for when apps try to access your contacts data.

The jailbreak tweak is conveniently called ContactPrivacy and is a free download from Cydia. After installing ContactPrivacy on your iPhone, you won’t find any new icon or settings to tweak…

However, when you use an application that is trying to access your contacts database, ContactPrivacy will notify you and let you choose to allow the app to do so or not.

If you choose to revoke access, Ryan Petrich warns that not all apps recover successfully from having their contacts access revoked. I guess it’s a friendly warning to let you know that if you choose to revoke access to an app, it might not work properly afterwards.

As often, the jailbreak community is much more reactive at protecting users than Apple is.

You can download ContactPrivacy from Ryan Petrich’s repo for free: http://rpetri.ch/repo.

  • that was fast.

  • AWESOME. This is just another reason to jailbreak. Jailbreak devs actually CARE about privacy. Imagine that.. A bunch of hoodlum iOS hackers that care about the end user… =P

  • AWESOME. This is just another reason to jailbreak. Jailbreak devs actually CARE about privacy. Imagine that.. A bunch of hoodlum iOS hackers that care about the end user… =P

  • I actually made an DISQUS account just to comment on this site. Usually I never bother commenting, but this site is just too awesome not to. 😉

  • Kok Hean

    Crashes WhatsApp o_o

  • JUST Added the Repo & added it.

  • Is this tweak asking for permission every time for anyone else? even on apps you’ve granted permission to?

    • For every app. I think..

      • right right. i know it prompts for every app that needs access. but i noticed that beejive asks every time i open it (when while it’s backgrounded), it always asks me.

  • The Facebook does the same thing and that fact was commonly known a lot earlier. So I don’t understand this hype on that so called: “Path debacle”

    • Curious. When was it proven that facebook uploaded our address book to their servers without our consent?

      • I forgot that you had to agree to a user agreement. But as far as I remember people were still upset cause, let’s face the truth, as good as no one reads user agreements. But I can point out that there was no direct question if Facebook is allowed to access the contacts.
        Am 08.02.2012 um 22:31 schrieb Disqus :

      • Someone should take a serious look at Instagram because they store not only your contact information, but facebook information as well even after you revoke access. This is how you are constantly made aware of when ‘new friends’ sign up. I’ve revoked and blocked instagram from facebook and yet it still finds my friends. Their privacy policy says they do not store, but it’s clearly evident that they do.

  • Someone should take a serious look at Instagram because they store not only your contact information, but facebook information as well even after you revoke access. This is how you are constantly made aware of when ‘new friends’ sign up. I’ve revoked and blocked instagram from facebook and yet it still finds my friends. Their privacy policy says they do not store, but it’s clearly evident that they do.