How to manage your iCloud backups and storage from your iOS device

By , Jan 6, 2012

icloud storage

iCloud launched in October 2011 to much confusion amongst consumers. Apple’s cloud-based storage service doesn’t work like your typical drag-and-drop cloud software (Dropbox), leaving some folks wondering how to use it.

But never fear, iDB is here to show you how to make the most of your iCloud account. Today we are going to show you how to manage and/or delete your iCloud backup files from your iOS device in just a few easy steps…

Hidden deep within the Settings application are toggles that help you customize, and delete, your iOS backups. Managing these backups can help you save precious iCloud storage space and prevent you from having duplicate backups.

So whether you’re trying to free up some space in your iCloud account, or just want more control over iCloud, this little guide can help you out:

Step 1. Open the Settings application on any one of your iOS devices that is synced with your iCloud account.

Step 2. Tap the iCloud tab and select the Storage option at the very top. You’ll see your total iCloud storage and Available Storage. And you’ll also see a Manage Storage tab. Tap that one.

iCloud manage storage

Step 3. Select the iOS device that you want to manage first, and it’ll take you to a breakdown of your backup details including the last date that iCloud backed up your device, and how much space the backup is taking up.

icloud apps backup options

Step 4. From there, you can also select which files you want iCloud to store. For example, if you sync your photos to your computer on a regular basis, you don’t need to back up these photos in iCloud, so you can turn that off. Note that you can only manage these backup options on each individual iOS device you own. For example, you may only manage your iPhone 6s iCloud storage from your iPhone 6s. You can however delete iCloud backups from any device.

turn off delete iCloud storage

If you don’t want iCloud backing up your data at all, you can choose to delete the backup which also turns off the auto-backup option. Just remember to plug your device into your computer and backup to iTunes or you could find yourself in a bind in the future.

  • Share:
  • Follow:
  • http://www.facebook.com/people/Manuel-Urkullu/100002200706659 Manuel Urkullu

    I did the same for my agenda with Save Contacts Email app… worked OK…

  • http://twitter.com/iPiotrek Piotr Dabrowski

    How to delete single photo in photstream

    • http://twitter.com/kriss631 Kriss zavala

      Their is a tweak in cydia that keeps every pic u take out of photo stream

      • http://twitter.com/JamesNMartin James

        In iOS 5.1 you can delete photos in photo stream. I’m using it right now as a developer.

      • http://twitter.com/iPiotrek Piotr Dabrowski

        It’s good that they fixed that, but I need that now

      • http://twitter.com/iPiotrek Piotr Dabrowski

        What is a name of this tweak?

  • Dan

    Not to seem to be trolling, this might of been useful when it first came out, I would imagine everyone’s figured that out by now.

  • Anonymous

    any right minded inquisitive device user would’ve figured out these settings ages ago 😀

    • http://www.idownloadblog.com Sebastien

      Not every iPhone user is a savvy as you guys though :p

  • http://twitter.com/Sam_spud Sam Samson

    Is there any way I can restore my iPhone from a previous backup? I did a clean restore, lost all my contacts & pics and iTunes saved a backup of that :(

    • Anonymous

      in itunes, right click your phone and go restore from backup. it should give you a list of all the backups saved in itunes. Choose a backup previous to the one that has no data.

      • http://twitter.com/Sam_spud Sam Samson

        Nope, this didn’t work. It only has backups from after the one that has no data?

      • Anonymous

        I would contact Apple in that case, to me it seems like you’re hooped, but you never know they may have a work-around.

  • Anonymous

    Photostream does not back up your entire camera roll. If you want to make sure it saves all your pictures I would leave that on.

  • http://twitter.com/Sam_spud Sam Samson

    Thank you I shall try this :)

  • Atif Tam

    My iphone4s its deactived with icloud and its not my icloud i just buy it from somone so i cant take a pic or use my iphone at alll, when i try to activat it they asked me about my identification of appel when i am using mine its not working is there is a way i can open it, please

  • Patty Kovalik Krajewski

    how can I look at the files before I delete the backup on my phone